I one where I set the curtains aflame


Advertisement
Gambia's flag
Africa » Gambia » Western Division » Kololi
March 17th 2008
Published: March 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The electricity went out Sunday night, surprise surprise. In my time of busy work in my house, and trying to turn a paper in, I lit candles in my room to see. Not thinking about the wind, I put the candle on the table next to my bed, like I always do. I turn around to put a shirt on, and the next thing I know my curtains and my window screen were engulfed in a fiery mess. I screamed to my roommate, who conveniently happened to be listening to Gladys Night real loud in her room. After a few shrill cries of desperation, Julia came running into my room with a bowl of water. Hypothetically, I knew what to do in a situation of fire. However, I was so shocked that I kept looking at the train wreck like I had just sniffed too much lead paint. We finally put the fire out, and by the grace of Allah, nobody was hurt. I live in a compound with about 500 other people, and they all came into my room, along with some random boys from the street. Once again, the tower of babble had a conference in my room about the ordeal, not including me in the conversation. This is the polite way to talk behind someone’s back in front of their face, speak another language. After I stopped shaking, I had a good hilarious laugh, and then went out for a couple beers.

Quote of The Post:
Pope Paul, Malcolm X, British Politician Sex
JFK, blown away, what else do I have to say?
We didn't start the fire
It was always burning
Since the world's been turning
We didn't start the fire
No we didn't light it
But we tried to fight it - Billy Joel


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb