My Visit of Ethiopia


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia
October 16th 2009
Published: October 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Few nations, if any, can boast the historic splendour of Ethiopia, evidence of whose extraordinary past is everywhere, from its rock-hewn churches, still places of living worship, to its ancient historical traditions and magnificent cultures. Ethiopia, is a nation of surprises, full of diversity and contrast, from the ancient to the modern.

Legend has it that Emperor Menelik I, the son of the Queen of Sheba and king Solomon, brought the Ark of the Covenant from Jerusalem to Axum, where he settled and established one of the world’s longest known, uninterrupted monarchical dynasties.

This is only one example of Ethiopia’s magnificent history, which encompasses legend and tradition, mystery and fact, from a powerful and religious ancient civilization. The well -trodden path through Ethiopia’s famous and fascinating historic places takes you through a scenically magnificent world of fairy -tale names, such as Lalibela, Gondar, Deber Damo and Bahar Dar.

I was fortunate enough to visit the so called historical circuit which is found in the north part of Ethiopia, and to describe what I felt with mere words will not do justice for this extraordinary and beautiful country.





Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



27th October 2009

I would have loved more info
From what you’ve written, it sounds that you’ve had a brilliant time and I have a feeling that you love the country. However, I wondered, how you trip to Axum was arranged, and specifically to the semain mountains...and is it worth doing the hard long walks just to see the view.... I’m planning to travel to Ethiopia in a month and a half, and keeping myself occupied is a must. I question how the locals react to someone who is a female and travelling alone. Any advise????
14th November 2009

thanks
Thank you for sharing these beautiful pictures
1st December 2009

Hello Abeba(I suspect), I am really sorry for my late reply as I was not checking it for a long time due to personal issues I had to do.If my little information is not late and still helpful i have sent it 2 u now. If I am going to start from your reaction to the locals....,this should be the simple and most definite answer I can give you. I have yet to get any type of hard feeling or harassment from any local I have visited and I can assure you that a lonely female traveler will not have a different fate either.Ethiopians are dubbed 'the most welcoming people' for no reason. In all of my trips to Axum,Lalibella,Siemien and any other place I have used the public transportation and it is enjoyable and safe albeit the slow speed due to the poor maintained roads.Foe example I took the root ADDIS-BAHIRDAR-WOROTA-LALIBELLA-WOLDIA-MEKELLE-AXUM. And for the Siemien mountain I am happy that you have decided to visit as it is the most spectacular landscape you may have seen.I have just take a bus from gonder to Debark ...and after spending a night in Debark I have taken another BUS to JANAMORA which passes through the park.I recommend you to take bus than do the whole trekking which I am afraid it may ruin your wonderful experience. There are stopovers/viewing places and u better use the bus to these particular places.. Have a wonderful time Abebe
1st December 2009

Thank you Zimam and I am happy that you enjoyed the pictures.. Have a nice time

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb