A long walk


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region » Robe
May 5th 2008
Published: May 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Apart from the cactus and the people washing their clothes in the river, the landscape as I walked along the River Shaya could have been somewhere in Northumberland. The recent rains were holding off, so I had decided that, as we had a day off work for Patriots’ Day, I would go for a walk.

I left Robe at 8am, and headed towards Hora Boka. It is amazing how quickly the mud dries - after only a couple of days without rain, there was a hard crust underfoot. I walked along the main road, only getting a few comments, giving the impression (however wrongly) that people in the village are getting used to seeing me. Heading down the hill beyond the village to the River Shaya, I got the inevitable question, “Where you go?” I headed right along the bank and decided to see if I could get as far as the bridge on the Robe road, 8km before the town. I was fairly sure that the river was the same, but if not would walk for say 3 hours and then turn back if needed.

The river wound its way through hillocks and woods. Apart from looks of surprise from people doing laundry or chopping wood, I received very little hassle. It was one of the most peaceful walks I have had in Ethiopia.

Three boys started talking to me and were not surprised when I said that I was heading for Robe, which gave me some confidence that the river would come out where I had thought. Their father was ploughing, using oxen, a little further up the hill. He also asked where I was heading and was fairly insistent (as far as I could tell in Afaan Oromo) that I should cut across the fields, so I left the security of following the river and set off in the direction he indicated. Robe has a tall mast, that can be seen for miles, and is a very useful landmark, so I kept it ahead of me as I walked. After stumbling across rough fields, I found myself on a track, which seemed to be going in the right direction. Then it ended! Jamal, a man also walking to Robe had asked where I was going when he passed me as I was eating lunch. At the end of the track, he waited for me then led me along a zigzag of field edges until we reached a mud road.

It seemed to run parallel to the main road to Robe, and I could see the new University buildings across some fields to the left. Jamal met some friends and continued on with them. Although we had walked largely in silence, a capacity that many Ethiopians have, I was pleased to have my solitude back.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Three boysThree boys
Three boys

The plastic as hats is useful if it rains - it becomes a cloak.


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb