Mariam Part 2


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region » Jimma
March 2nd 2010
Published: March 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Shortly after sending out the photos and emails, the Americans from the NGO called and said that there is actually a group of foreigners who happen to be working in Addis for the next week and a half on facial abnormalities. They saw the pics and agreed to see her. She would be leaving soon. Alright, sweet…wait a second, we were told to keep her papers for her because we were supposed to take her back to Jimma Hospital on Monday. Crap.

I called the saint the next morning and he said she should have her papers and x-rays, even if they are poor quality and will be taken again. So I called the Sisters to make sure she was still there. She was still there but she might be leaving after lunch or she would be leaving the next day (Monday). I grabbed her stuff, took some taxis and got to the Sisters. I dropped the paper work off with the Sister Superior and wished Mariam good luck. The sister translated her saying something to the effect of, “I am in pain, and I don’t want to go to Addis for only more appointments.” To which the Sister replied that these are Faranjis, they get stuff done. I saw the sister the next morning at the post office, random I know. She said that Mariam left early that morning for Addis. There is a Sisters of Charity in Addis and she was able to get transport through the sisters as well as lodgings at the Sisters of Charity in Addis. The sister explained some pains they had trying to transport patients on the ordinary public buses.

On my way home from dropping off Mariam’s papers with the Sisters I noticed my phone was missing. It must have slipped out of my pocket in one of the taxis. Serves me right for helping someone with a debilitating facial tumor. I’ll never be doing that again!...and yes I am joking and saying that because I don’t expect to be in this situation ever again.

If and when I hear about her status I will post Mariam part 3. Hopefully it will be a happy ending and I’ll have some before and after pictures.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb