I am pretty sure I am in Jurassic Park


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region » Jimma
February 23rd 2010
Published: February 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

The best part about Chiri and Bonga is the countryside; it is so lush and green. We hiked one day to a waterfall in Chiri and the other day we hiked to a waterfall in Bonga. There were huge ferns growing along the banks of the waterfalls and it seemed as if we were in Jurassic Park. I kept looking over my shoulder for Velocer Raptors. The Chiri falls were cool, but only maybe 30 feet tall. The Bonga falls however were huge, probably 150 feet or so. There were some monkeys around the area, but we didn’t see that many. We did see some very gnarly army ants, I forget their common moniker, but they are huge communities that eat everything in their path. Soldiers with huge pinchers line their path, while other ants enclose the path and workers run through transporting food. There are stories of them even eating babies. I bought a machete because I knew the area was very green, but I didn’t get to use it. Whatever, I just wanted a machete.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb