Dire Dawa


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Dire Dawa Region » Dire Dawa
December 18th 2010
Published: December 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Dire Dawa Train StationDire Dawa Train StationDire Dawa Train Station

Here's a pic of the Dire Dawa train station I saw.
Today I went on a bus to Dire Dawa. I went to a food stand that was on the streets for breakfast. I got some raosted lamb and some tea. The tea was amazing. I went to the Dechatu river basin which has a magnificent sunrise. After that I walked around the streets.

For lunch I went to the Paradiso restaurant on the edge of town. I had a wonderful and traditional Ethiopian dish. After lunch I went to see the Frenhc-built train station, which made me feel as if I were in the 1800s. It is very beautiful with many decorations.

Time for dinner!! I decided to go to the Paradiso restaurant AGAIN!!! I thought it was so good the first time that I just had to go again. While I was walking, I saw a couple local men chewing some chat and drinking coffee. It seemed like they were in a deep discussion. I walked over and asked if I could join them.

The chat was good and the coffee was a little too strong, but I was thankful they gave me some. Then I started back towards a certain direction. I was looking for a place to rent a room to sleep in for the night. I finally found a lady that had a spare room in her house that she didn't use. She told me where I could get water, food, and where my room was. It seemed very much like my apartment in New York City. Tomorrow I think I'll go to Gondar.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb