Hottest Place in The World is Apparently Too Hot


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Afar Region » Asayita
May 17th 2012
Published: May 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My friends, its been a long time coming but Africa is proving to be an adventure. I just got done with the first stretch of the Journey to Ethiopia and am glad to say its over. Danakil Depression is a gem in any eye regardless of the beholder. But what good is beauty if the political atmosphere of the tourist area is unstable and worse still no one lets you know of this!

My journey started on the 1st of May where Hamedela became my home for the night. The Afar tribesmen were very hospitable quite contrary to their reputation of embellishing themselves with genitalia parts of tourists (I was perturbed to learn of this when I got there!) Well, my travels as well as that of the other 6 in the group began really well. There is nothing like the African sunset and night sky.....absolutely breath taking!

Our travels began in the early morning of Wednesday. The heat around the Danakil depression is unbearable but the sight is to die for! All went well until we heard what we thought were gunshots and shortly afterwards a blue helicopter flew passed us. We thought nothing more of this until we returned to Addis where at the airport we were told that a helicopter from Kenya had indeed been shot at and hit several times with tourists on board. My heart goes out to its occupants and I wonder if all is well with them! I will be passing via Kenya to travel to Rwanda for my gorilla safari and I will make a point of following up with possibly the East African Helicopter Association to see if they have any know-how of the well being of the occupants in the Helicopter.

Whats most shocking is that this popular Tourist destination has had several unnerving tourist incidences which have not been sufficiently highlighted. Some of these incredibly violent incidents happened as recently as this February, check this out: http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/jan/18/foreign-tourists-killed-ethiopia

.....................…..though I still maintain there's nothing quite as warm as an African heart nor quite as awe-inspiring as the African sunset...................

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb