Pick Pocket...again


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
January 17th 2010
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 9.02274, 38.7468

.......I've returned to Addis for the Timkat Festival which begins tomorrow, January 18.

The trip back to Addis is smooth. I have found a newly established guest house with spotlessly clean rooms. The price is good, so I check in.

I start the unpacking process. When I empty my pockets I notice my camera is missing? OK, I've just covered it with an article of clothing or something. I check......check again....and again.....my camera is gone.

Somewhere between the bus station and the Piazza area my camera has been lifted. Early in the walk from the bus station, I felt someone trying to go for my right pocket, same as last time. I felt them and brushed them aside.
My camera, in my left pocket, seemingly secure, must not have been.

Initially I'm upset, but with what has happened in Haiti, I quickly put it into perspective. I've sent the memory card from the first part of the trip home with Carole. I've only lost a few days worth of photos, I'm healthy, the sun will come up tomorrow, and I brought a second camera on the trip as a back up.

After Timkat, I'm off to ?????? I've had a few negative reports from people visiting the south, Omo Valley....lots of hassle from the locals. Not threatening, just hassles. I'll decide over the next couple of days what the next destination will be.

Take care!!

Advertisement



17th January 2010

Oh poor Richard! My dearest Richard! I am so sorry to hear that your camera was gone. Hope everything would be fine for the next day. Please do take care of yourself and stay healthy. With lots of love, Poan

Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb