My First Job


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
July 3rd 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kovas writing…
At fifteen years old my first job is not caddying or working at McDonalds, but it’s teaching Somali citizens displaced in Addis Ababa. I have been working for over a month. I like it, and I’m good at it.
I am a teacher at the Shiloh International School, which has students from Saudi Arabaia, Egypt, Dubai, and many from Somalia. This is one of the few schools they are able to attend, because it is an inexpensive international school. Ethiopia does not allow non-Ethiopians to attend their public schools. Because it is a new school, they are happy with all the help they can get.
My dad had previously met James, the founder, principal, and one of the teachers in the school, and helped him teach classes at the school. My dad took me to one of the classes, showed me how everything works. Previously I had taught computer skills to children on Saturdays, so I felt confident teaching more regularly here. The school is located on the third floor of a four story building. It is across from a restaurant and above a bank and a barbershop. It consists of James’ office and two classrooms.
When my own exams finished, I decided to spend my free time teaching. I teach math twice a week and English on Thursdays. In my math class I teach two first graders, five second graders, seven third graders, and nine fifth graders in one classroom. It’s tough to juggle the different ages and abilities within one classroom. I usually assign workbook pages to each grade and explain the concepts individually. Then, I go to each student and review or correct his/her work. In my English class I try to make them speak only English and no other languages. Boy, this task is much harder than you would suspect! I’d say it’s harder than doing complex geometry problems! I explain to them the difference between common nouns and proper nouns and constantly remind them to start their sentences with capital letters and end with punctuation mark. Sometimes it occurs to me that I’m being “punished” for driving my teachers crazy as a student. However, it’s a good type of punishment. Teaching is tough, but it is a rewarding job.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1137s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb