Oh Happy Day


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
June 19th 2009
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I must write this quickly since I am to be downstairs to head to the airport 4am.

First today was a happy day at the hotel; American couples just arrived back from meeting their children for the first time, which they are adopting. Many happy expected parents walked the lobby, with joy on their faces. Most of these couples I talked to were adopting older children between 4 and 6. Those are the hardest to place and the shortest wait times. Babies have long waiting list, so many choose to bring an older child. They all talk about meeting their children for the first times and how they had prepared for the worst but how the agency prepares the children well for their new parent and it was all JOY! I think I shocked them when I asked them in the lobby why they were here in Ethiopia (you don’t see many white Americans here at all, so they stand out) and they said they were adopting and without thinking I started jumping up and down saying how great that was. It was a great moment for them and for me! We talked forever and others gather so I got to see joy first hand. They were off to the region where the kids come from to meet the families and then they are united with the kids again for 2 weeks here then head back to the states. BTW.. It is very expensive. Around 20- 25,000 USD. So these people really want these children. Just as a side note, I hear people complain all the time about why don’t people adopt in the states we have our own children of need. I just wanted to add my 2 cents in that discussion, yes ALL children need love no matter where they come from but a child in Africa or any developing country will have so much less opportunity then an orphan in the US. We at least have systems in place where a child can be educated, feed, clothed and if motivated change go on to college and be successful despite they childhood. I am not saying it is easy but it is possible. An orphan child has almost NO chance of achieving pass the poverty they are born in. They are not likely to be educated pass grade school if at all and many times are malnourished and sick. So I understand why people choose this path. Both are wonderful journeys, one should not take precedence over the other. Bottom line a child gets a home with love and support!



It will be a long day tomorrow, because we (me and my film maker) travel to Bahir Dar and start my little project. I am to meet with the head of the hospital, along with the regional head of health to talk about what is needed to bring this region up to the bare necessities. Today, I had a great meeting with the health director who was in Addis on his way to a conference in Spain. He was a lovely friendly man who was so thankful for my interest and drive. But what I took most from him was that many people have promised him many things and then they disappear and nothing changes. I am determined not to be one of those who promise things and never are heard from again. We talked about basic needs like shelving for medicine. There are hospitals in this region that just have drugs sitting on the floors since there are not proper shelving units for medicine. Surely, I can gather enough support to change something that simple, I thought as he talked. Then he talked about how of the 16 hospitals in the entire region which serves over 20 million, some have no plumbing, no clean water, all 16 do everything with an old paper filing system which makes it impossible to track patients prior visits and illness, and many many other needs for each of the 16 hospitals in the region. This region has the highest TB, Malaria and HIV in the country, by the way. So my (our) work is cut out for us. My first mission is to tell the story on film, so people can see why I choose to do this. So that is the task this next week. It will be like have KIM in AFRICA the reality show! Should be funny, you know how silly I can be! KIM Plus 20 million… think it could sell???

There is no electricity there so I will not be able to blog but I will keep a log of my travels and hope to update next Tuesday when we return to the city. So stay tuned!

Much love to all… keep the comments coming, I love getting them!!!!


Advertisement



20th June 2009

Thanks, Kim for your great updates`
Kim - thanks for keeping us informed. It pleases me so much to see you doing this. Your blog about the adoption of children naturally touched me heart very closely - even though my three are from KY and CA. Weather here is hot and humid, but right here in mid-St. Louis county-city we've been missing all of the terrible storms AND WIND! I'LL BE sharing your blogs with friends here and hope that when you return we can definitely help you make a differencel. It's great to be able to call you a friend in spite of the fact we don't seem cross paths often around here. Take care, God continue to bless you and get the rest you need. Ruth
20th June 2009

You Go Girl!!
As much as we miss you here, it is obvious that you are exactly where you belong, doing exactly what you should be. I admire and respect you for everything you are doing and WILL accomplish. I love reading your blogs and am anxious to see how the filming and all goes for you this week. God bless you and all those you are working so hard to help. Please take good care of yourself.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb