Pyramids!!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt
December 17th 2008
Published: July 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Pyramids!Pyramids!Pyramids!

Finally Made it!
“The use of traveling is to regulate imagination by reality, and instead of thinking how things may be, to see them as they are.” – Samuel Johnson

I finally made it to the pyramids!! They were exactly what I imagined and more. I LOVED THEM! The day was so great it felt like it was my birthday. I felt like it was such an accomplishment to finally make it to the place where I've always dreamed of going.

When I first arrived a little bedouin man came and brought me a bottle of orange pop. I was so excited to see the pyramids that i missed my mouth and spilled the pop down my shirt. The little man thought that was the funniest thing ever, he was so cute.

The pyramids are HUGE. It's such a mystery of how they were built and more importantly how they were built so precisely. They also have a certain vibe about them, its hard to describe, but I definitely had a feeling when I was there. A little bit eerie, but also a good feeling. Some say that time slows when you are beside the pyramids. They were so amazing. I was expecting the Sphinx to be a lot bigger than it was.

Riding a camel to the pyramids was a whole experience in itself. I didnt expect the Camel to stand up with its back legs first and almos rolled right off...I dunno how the ladies rode these things back in the day in their skirts. After we rented quads and went quading around the pyramids in the desert for a few hours, super fun!

We also went horse back riding at night. It made me really sad though because the horses are treated really really badly. its actually heart breaking. All the horses are so skinny they could barely hold me up and they are covered in wounds and bleeding. Some of the horses were so weak and couldn't make it another step and fell in the desert and died. Their bodies were just left there rotting in the desert and when we passed them, the horses we were riding would get very upset. It was horrible. The horse my friend was riding got so upset it freaked out and ran away out of control with my friend still on it!

Anyways, minus the poor horses... best day EVER!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb