Good Times


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt
July 12th 2009
Published: July 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On Wednesday night I was sitting in my room compiling my comments on the summer course and the students when my phone rang. It was Kadry, the friend whose family we visited last summer. “Pastor Amy” he began, “George, Samer and I are on the roof and we have 4 beers. Do you want one?”

It’s fair to say that I hate beer. Most days I’d rather drink warm water than a cold beer. But in Egypt I drink beer, mostly because it’s what’s cheap and easily available and it’s seen as acceptable (as opposed to most other alcohol). Each summer I imbibe in maybe a grand total of 2 beers.

So Wednesday night I walked up the stairs to the roof. I sat with three of my favorite students, who have also become friends, and shared a beer under the stars and talked about the world. We could have been anywhere - sitting around, shooting the breeze, drinking a beer with friends. It was a reminder that the joys of life are the same no matter where you go!


Advertisement



12th July 2009

Maybe after enough visits to Egypt, you will have converted them to them to gin and tonics!
13th July 2009

G&Ts
Trust me whoever you are -- if I could get some decent gin I would!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb