Egypt Day 5 - Karkak & Temples


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Upper Egypt » Luxor
January 15th 2012
Published: January 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I planned to visit Karnak Temple and Luxor Temple. I woke up after midday, and did a bit of research on how far away the attractions were. Luxor Temple wasn’t too far, but Karnak was a few kilometres up the road. I decided to ask reception for a transfer.

I was driven there by motorbike, which was quite fun. And intense at times; but what was mostly fascinating was the streets and people that I was seeing. It just screamed Africa.

My motorcyclist drove me along the Nile bank, past Luxor temple, and spectacular views on both sides of the road. It wasn’t too long before I was at Karnak Temple; I bought myself a ticket, grabbed something to eat then headed to the site.

It was astonishing. This has to be the most impressive ancient site I have ever seen. It felt great to be really here, after seeing a lot of these sights in movies. Ancient Egypt is truly something. I spent<span> a good amount of time wandering through, imagining how the ancients used to live. There was hardly anyone to bother me, which made the stroll through much more enjoyable and relaxing.

I then took a taxi back along the Nile to see Luxor temple. We negotiated the fare beforehand. Although the taxi driver tried to take me to a souvenir shop to have a look at the items, even though I repeatedly said I was not interested; I only wanted to go to Luxor Temple. But he insisted and parked the car at the entrance to a souvenir shop. I told him that unless he gets me to Luxor Temple, he won’t be getting his money. Honestly, I don’t need this. I would probably have been made to buy something.

He indeed agreed to take me where I wanted to be, and I even gave him a tip for complying. I was off to see Luxor Temple. Very similar to Karnak’s, except there’s more inside areas. All very fascinating stuff. Heiroglyphs written all over the walls and columns, with plenty of statues standing around as well.

I ventured off to take in some of the beauty of the Nile River. On the way back to my hostel, one guy offered me a ride on his horse, which he referred to as a Rolls Royce, and another horse a Lamborghini. I was very amused.

But after that, it was just time to relax and prepare for tomorrow's trip to Aswan.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb