Ain't No Valley Low Enough...


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Upper Egypt » Luxor
November 12th 2007
Published: November 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! Thanks for all the wonderful comments and its lovely to hear from a Jimmy too (and I look forward to your stories). I would like to congratulate Bobby on winning the no prize quiz - as I was a 23 year old, married Geography teacher from Fiji (no ones heard of it yet)!! Great Bobbys think alike.

Since writing last I have crossed over the Nile by local ferry many times which has been a good but short ride. The first time I went to the West Bank I wasnt sure what to visit and a kind English man said his tour group were going to Habu Temple and offered me a lift there and so thats where I went! It was really lovely because unlike the other temples on the East Bank - this one had the Valley as a backdrop and there were less tourists too so I spent a good 6 hours there.

The next day i decided to go to the Valley of the Queens and like normal, I walked which everyone finds bizaree! Despite planning to pay to go in, I trailed off and started walking up the mountain side and got a good view of the tombs for free and decided not to part with any money. I carried on going as it was so nice to be in the valley with not a tourist in sight, and stumbled across a handful of closed tombs which I had all to myself so that was good! I then kept going up the mountain and came across a poilce house in the middle of nowhere (which I later found out were put there after the tourist mascre in the valley 10
years ago)- where one man kindly walked with me across the cliffs which were quite dangerous.

After a quiet day of walking around the West Bank, I decided to go to the Valley of the Kings. Although planning to walk 7km there I managed to haggle down a good price for a taxi which was a nice change. Nearly having a heart attack at the entrance price I trailed off from the tombs and to the valley where I spent the whole day walking (again I didn't see one person the whole time - It was like having a free National Park to myself). I then managed to get a free lift back to the ferry which saved my leggies - although we had a quick detour to his family home where i met the whole extended family and had tea with them.

Im off to Aswan in 10 minutes which hopefully will be more hassle free!



























Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



12th November 2007

Ain't no river wide enough...
And ain't no mountain high enough either , by the sound of it, for a Bobby. The Habu temple is my screensaver this week and I have googled it as never seen pictures of that before and I loved reading about your adventuring in the Valleys of the Kings and Queens. Watched Long Way Down on the tv yesterday - Ewan McGregor spent all of 5 screen seconds in each of Luxor and Aswan, so go on get some vids up on Youtube:-)!! Sun is shining here today...love and big hugs ooooo Mumsy xxxxx
13th November 2007

Those boots are made for walking
My goodness Bobby don't you get so hot when you are walking? Hope you have your sun screen on (I sound like your mother!) You are so lucky to meet all these helpful people on the way. Love J and K x
14th November 2007

You're spending too much!
You could even teach me a lesson or two when it comes to watching the pennies - well done my wee bonnie lass. I like the look of the Valley of the Queens - although it's a little less impressive than the Valley of the Kings. Is it the Valley of the Princes next?- I understand it's full of council flats. Love the pics, and the strories - I wish I was a brave as you!!
14th November 2007

the valley is king, i crown it in my heart
hey bob, the valley of the kings looks amazing!!! well done!!! im loving all the free stuff too im impressed!!! am im glad i did well in the quiz, i would hate to think the distance between us was weakening bobby power. Dont forget to do another quiz for me next time xxxx
16th November 2007

What no people?
You seem to be following the Bobbies theme Bobby with no other people in the photos. How is the camel searching going? Have you encountered any scary wildlife? Love J and K

Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 68; dbt: 0.2041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb