Diving in Dahab


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Sinai » Dahab
June 2nd 2006
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The SinaiThe SinaiThe Sinai

The baren landscape of the Sinai as I travel between Sharm and Dahab (only an hour and a half by public bus).
Shared taxi from Pigeon House to Sharm bus station...lots of cops and the driver still tried to steal from me. For those interested, there are a few daily buses from Sharm to Dahab and they only cost about $2 USD.

Easy bus ride as it took a little over 1 hour through baren landscape of Sinai. I land in town and search for a place as I walk the boardwalk and find the prices are too high especially as it is low seaon and since its just a month after the bombingm vacancies are high. I finally settle on the small hotel called Nirvana. I get a good room for $10 USD per night. I decided to dive with Nirvana as it was recommended by the dive shop in Zanzibar. Dahab is a great sleepy little town with just the right mix of shops, restaurants and hangouts. I spend the days relaxing, diving and drinking with friends. I HIGHLY recommend coming to Dahab and staying a week!!

After 5 days, I headed up north to Nuweiba to meet Tamar (who is coming down from Israel). We meet up after last seeing each other in Vietnam back in November of 2005. After a joyous reuniting, we find that Nuweiba is really 'dead', so we wait for a bus and head back to Dahab. Luckily, I get my same room at Nirvana.

Tamar and I spend a few relaxing days in Dahab and then head north to Israel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

DahabDahab
Dahab

The view of the main strip from the balcony of the Nirvana Guest House. In the distance is the small walking bridge where just months ago two bombs went off.
Welcome to DahabWelcome to Dahab
Welcome to Dahab

A mural on the highway notifying me that I was indeed in Dahab.
Look OutLook Out
Look Out

One of the many dogs in Dahab sits on to of a house and stares out into the Red Sea towards Saudi Arabia.
SignageSignage
Signage

Never seen this sign in America before...
ThislegormThislegorm
Thislegorm

Dive boats converge above the Thisglegorm wreck dive site. It was an amazing dive as I went into the wreck...first time ever for me..
Going down to ThistlegormGoing down to Thistlegorm
Going down to Thistlegorm

Remco (my diving buddy) brought along his camera and snapped photos. Here I am descending down to 30 meters to the Thistlgorm wreck.
Schools OutSchools Out
Schools Out

This school of barracuda swam by us as we were descending upon Thistlegorm.
Sitting on ThistlegormSitting on Thistlegorm
Sitting on Thistlegorm

Remco and I sit on the deck of the wreck.
LionfishLionfish
Lionfish

This little fella joined us for a bit during our tour of the wreck. The spiny parts of this fish are very poisonous.
SnailSnail
Snail

This colorful snail was hanging out on the wreck as well.
Napolean FishNapolean Fish
Napolean Fish

This big guy (about 1.5 meters in lenght) hung around us for a bit during our dive in Ras Mohammad national park.
Blue Spotted RayBlue Spotted Ray
Blue Spotted Ray

This shy creature was hiding underneath an overhang in Ras Mohammed national park.
Nirvana Dive shop teamNirvana Dive shop team
Nirvana Dive shop team

I pose with Raymond and Cheryl. Raymond holds the record for the deepest dive by a Dutchman.
Saudi ArabiaSaudi Arabia
Saudi Arabia

The landmass in the distance is Saudi Arabia...easily seen from the terrace of the Nirvana guesthouse where I took this picture.
Beer on the BeachBeer on the Beach
Beer on the Beach

Tamar and I enjoy beers on the beach outside Adams bar.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb