Chilling hardcore in Dahab


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Sinai » Dahab
December 31st 2006
Published: January 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dahab at sunsetDahab at sunsetDahab at sunset

Nothing more to do than sit around on a chair, read a book and watch sunset.
Arriving on the 23rd in Dahab, I spent the next 8 days there, doing very little. I would spend the day either sitting on the beach sipping banana shake while reading, snorkelling in some world-class coral, chatting it up with other travellers or laid-back locals or lazily surf the internet. The evening were spent drinking and chatting with other people, or watching movies at Tota, the famou boat-bar of Dahab. I did very little and I loved it that way.

Philip (the quebecer from Petra) joined me on the 24th and we celebrated Christmas together and some people from the Auski camp. For New Year the fun was a bit broken because I realized only before we were supposed to go out that all the ATMs in town were out of money and I didn't have much left so I couldn't drink much, but we had fun anyway.

But it didn't matter, I had great fun and really recuperated. In the last month or so I had been a bit burned out. I moved too much, too fast I think and I just needed time where I didn't need to think about how to get from the bus station
Streets of DahabStreets of DahabStreets of Dahab

Stores, stores and stores.
to the city, find and negotiate a hotel room, find my way out in a new city etc etc. It can be a fun thing and but it does get tiring.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Dahab beachDahab beach
Dahab beach

Not a great beach, but the coral is amazing
Beachfront promenadeBeachfront promenade
Beachfront promenade

And Tota, the famous boat bar
One of the many beachfront restaurant/barOne of the many beachfront restaurant/bar
One of the many beachfront restaurant/bar

Nice place to sip on a banana shake


24th May 2007

Great read!!!
Just read through most of your adventures, starting in europe...very informative and interesting...looking forward to your next one though it has been six months or so since the last one...can't wait for the next entry

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 24; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb