Sharm El Sheikh


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Red Sea » Sharm el-Sheikh
May 3rd 2012
Published: May 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I will be raiding Egypt in July/August, visiting Sharm El Sheikh. Really excited!!

I will try to keep a constant blog going, offering tips and advice as I find it out. This will be my first ever trip to Africa, therefore I am incredibly excited/nervous.

If there is anything people could recommend to do while there, this would be hugely appreciated!

If this helps, I have booked the trip through www.directline-holidays.co.uk on an all inclusive deal, 5 star hotel for 14 nights. I can't remember the name of the hotel, but it was called something like iberutal (i'm sure I could google it :p) . A number of the hotels had really bad reps on trip adviser, while this one seemed to be good, albeit a bit far out comparitively. The cost was about £880, which seemed about equal to competitors. The sales people were very friendly, and I guess it's all happy day, but I will see once I am there.



I have begun making a plan up of what to do. The camel rides to the beduins sound amazing. From the reviews, you should go for the 4 hour one where you stargaze, over the shorter option. The shorter option is £20 cheaper, but you don't apparently do much, so seems more worth doing the whole beduin trip, however my plan will be to bring food along, and I would recommend this. I looked at the 'meal' you eat with them once you arrive and it is bread and water...think the supermarket might provide a wee bit of a tastier option!

Diving, snorkelling and swimming will have to be done in abundance, however I am a little scared of sharks (yes I know, stupid). The trips to st catherines monastery might have to be considered as well, however I have heard mixed reviews on this option.

My overall winner for exciting options which have been recommended to me is the quad biking. Also, at £30 for 2 hours, it definitely seems value for money, and something I think I will look back on fondly! I am a bit scared of anything that might be in the desert however, such as snakes/scorpions. I wonder if anyone knows how dangerous this is or how often people are attacked?



Once again, please let me know of what you would recommend if you have been to sharm el sheikh before, as I have absolutely no idea!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb