Egypt 1 - Diving the Depths of The Red Sea


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Red Sea » Sharm el-Sheikh
May 7th 2008
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi All!!!!!

Back on the travelling trail, however this time I decided to venture into Egypt, a very different adventure..... deep into sandy deserts and red seas, past the great pyramids, down the Nile and through the valley of the Kings.... no light task however do-able and if something is do-able ....it must be done....

Sharm El Sheik

Sharm is a tourist town that sits on the red sea, calm and tranquil it is a town where people come from all over the worl to Dive. It is ranked in the top 5 for the best diving sites in the world and it definately did not dissapoint. A goal of mine was that if i ever went to egypt I always wanted to do a Diving course and to achieve certification so that I could dive around the world if the opportunity ever arose (i missed one in argentina since i had no certificate).

So I booked and payed for my course and started studying three weeks prior to the date i was to leave london and arrive in Egypt to start my diving course on the 29th of March. I was going to do my Open Water Padi, which allows you to dive to 18m followed by my Advanced course allowing me to dive anywhere in the world to 30m....

The Red sea was amazing .... like swimming through a big fish bowl...with 20m clear view of the waters around and the other world under the sea going about its buisiness with alot less interest in you as we had in them..... We saw sting rays, played with octopus, little and big Nemo's, parrotfish, massive sea turtles and even saw fish the size of me...

I was lucky enough to get my own private instructor for a week and completed both courses including a dive on a ship wreck!!!!
The Ship Wreck was my last dive which proved to be quite a commical dive due to the fact it was a ship that had been carrying bathroom appliances... so we spent 45min at around 14m below sea level moseying through sinks, baths and a range of toilets and these are some of the sea life and images I tried my best to capture for the purpose of sharing this amazing world with all of you......


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



31st July 2008

Red Sea
Hey Mel, Nice one! Looks amazing. I'd love to be there. Miss you. Cheers, Roc
1st August 2008

hey roc!!
hey babe how are you? great to hear from ya... going to head down to capri soon so if you want me to check anything inparticular out give me a list!!!.. iv been before so really it gives me an excuse for a weekedn away and something to do! hehe. won't be coming home until may or so next year and will only be for a month.. coming to apply for my migrant visa.. thinking of settling in london for 5 yrs or so.... when is the date for the wedding?...miss you guys also...
5th August 2008

HI Ya
Hi Mel, great to see these photos, you are certainly having a fabulous time. Looking forward to hearing all about Mykonos.We miss you and always thinking of you.Love, Angus, Anne, Lily and Cathyxxxx

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb