Sand Boarding


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Middle Egypt
February 20th 2010
Published: February 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today, I want sandboarding in some dunes about 60 km south of Cairo. I pilled into an old skool Land Cruiser jeep that had a hollowed out covered truck, in which about 8 people could fit.

It was a really pleasent ride out, dispite the fact that I was crazy hungover from the party in Aguza the night before. Anyways, I had a few of the really cool guys from West Point in the truck with me, namely Freddie, Nick, and Joe. They are truely great Americans.

After about 2 hours on the road, surrounded by desert, we vered off the road and went cruising into the Sahara. It was an incredible visual. 3 classically safari jeeps tearing across the Egyptian desert.

After about 20 minutes, moutning dunes, divits, and anything else one finds in the desert, we stummbled upon these massive sand dunes, which towered about 60 feet in size. The san dwas a perfect silky feel, with a toasted tan look.

After gawking at the might of the dunes, we picked our sandboards which were snowboards with rudimentary straps on them. We had to cover the bottoms with wax so that they could actually move in the sand. After we rubbed candles all over the bottom. We started the long walk up the dune. At this point I was rocking the Iiro honakanen isprire Lawrence of Arabic headdress and my 210 LE sunglasses (What a rip!)

Anyways, when we got to the top, the view was absolutey breathtaking. Its absolutely truel the the desert is as beautiful as it is vast. It reached as far as the eyes could see in a 360 degree panoroama.

There were 3 ways to get down the mountain. The first was in a regualr snowboard stance, the second was on your bum, the the third was bullet style. The first time I sat on my bum, the ramped off of an embankment about halfway down the dune. It was SWEET!

We repeated that a few times, and then I went down for a drink. I met a cool girl named Leeh who told me a good restuerant Alex's Seafood in Norfolk to go to. We talk for a while in the cool shade of the landcrusier, sitting, on blankets looking out into the desert.

We had shish Tauk and Burgers for lunch, and continued trhe night. I eneded up playing "Street Soccer" in the middle of the Sahara derts, which, in retrospect, needed to happen.

We staye dout there until about 8pm. On the ride back I sat in a 1998 4Runner with James (Mohammed) and the instructor. During hte whole ride back, we rocked out to House, Sh3abi music, and Americna Hip Hop. We lead the whole group, and took a few detors to go over some cool dunes.

At night, I came back talked to Dad. We talked about his birthdays, their trip to Costa Rica, and how his taste for travel is getting serious. It good to see my parents finally doing things that dont involve us children. He was even talking about go to Antartica! Good on you Pops.

Overall a great day, on a foundation of a blessed life.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb