Egypt overnight tour


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Giza
May 2nd 2013
Published: May 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Egypt was fascinating. We were unsure even the night before if we were going to call. Other ships had cancelled, but we we so happy with HAL for not doing so. I'm sure they were checking security, as there had been a breach of the American Embassy wall several days prior and embassy murders in Libya. A Cruise Critic group of 20 of us did an overnight tour with Ramses Tours, which for we singles was less than 1/3 the price of the HAL tour (same hotel), in a mini-bus. 3 hours from Alexandria to Giza the first day was a long trip, but there was a pleasant roadside stop. Our guide gave us lira to use the toilets (common in the middle east). Our destination was the pyramids at Giza. When we came around the corner it was a-maze-ing! Our guide taught us how to say NO THANKS to the "mosquitoes" of vendors trying to sell you something. "One dollar" they shouted for nearly anything they wanted to see to you. It was not unlike any beach in Mexico, and I found the bartering fun, but many people did not enjoy this part of the location. I bought some pens (10 for $5) and postcards. Could have bought a lot more if I'd had dollars. The vendors indicated that Americans are staying away from Egypt and they were happy to see us there. We saw Saqqra, with the amazing well preserved crypt paintings, which I still can't believe aren't covered. You can touch them! We over- nighted at Le Meredien, Giza. Beautiful hotel, but I don't think they can get parts to fix things. Of the three of us singles, one room had no electricity in the wing, my toilet flushed constantly and when I toyed around with the flushing mechanism I realized someone had put a bobby pin in it to hold it to the wall. We had dinner in the hotel, which had a lovely buffet for 180 Egyptian Pounds, , about $30, but we weren't that hungry. I sat down to a table alone, which I guess in a no-no in Egypt. I wasn't recognized until my two table mates had arrived. We had martinis and steaks, and it came in under $20 per person. Jeanne ate the salad, we had ice in our drinks, no problems. The elaborate buffet breakfast was included in the a.m. before our group was off at 8:00am.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb