Cairo


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
May 15th 2006
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Kirk EmergesKirk EmergesKirk Emerges

After more than a year, one of my best mates joins me for a short adventure...Kirk emerges from the baggage area at Cairo Airport.
I had to take Iberia Airlines to get to Cairo, so I first flew to Madrid and then on to Cairo.

I was detained shortly at Egyptian immigration but it was nothing...although for a brief moment I thought about Midnight Express and I began to sweat. But I was cleared to enter and off I went....into the wild, busy world that is Cairo. I was immediatedly accosted by the very aggressive cab drivers who wanted my business. I chose instead to take the free bus to the car parking lot where I found a cab driver to take me Downtown for about 35 Dirham ($7).

I was very tired as it was 11:30pm and I headed to the Cleopatra Hotel as was recommeded by an internet site. It was too costly at $50 per night so instead I took a short cab ride (about 2 blocks for $.20) to the Ismailia House Hotel. It is located on Tahrir Square in the heart of Cairo (across from the Egyptian Museum: 1, Eltahrir Square, Cairo: telephone is 7963122 ). You have to walk down a dark alley which is a bit creepy and then board a rickety old small elevator (with
King of De-NileKing of De-NileKing of De-Nile

My first view of the Nile comes as, letting Kirk catch up on some rest after his long flight, I venture to the river.
lots of charm) to the eighth floor...but upon arriving I found the very friendly staff (Mustafa and Khalid) and a room for the night for $7 (shared bath and shower). I was a bit nervous my friend Kirk (who would arrive the following day) was not going to like it...but I needed to sleep and they promised me they would have an en-suite room the following day. Upon waking I was given room 801 with a balcony looking over the square which gives you a view of the Museum, The Cairo Tower and even a glimps of the Nile. I highly recommend this room!!

Kirk arrived the next day and I met him at their airport. We grabbed a cab from the airport and, wanting Kirk to get a feel for the strange behavior of cab drivers, I let him pay. The cab driver of course gave Kirk the wrong change which cost Kirk $10...but a good lesson.

We spend the next few days sight seeing and experiencing all Cairo has to offer (museums, shisha smoking, Pyramids, ruins, etc.) We even met a few local women who turned out to be prostitues and dressed in conservative Arab clothing. Yikes.

Off to Alexandria for the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

View from BalconyView from Balcony
View from Balcony

This is the view from the balcony of our room at the ______ guest house. We are facing west and the nile river.
Sheeee-ShaaaaaaSheeee-Shaaaaaa
Sheeee-Shaaaaaa

The Captain and I enjoy some tea and shisha at an outdoor seating joint around the corner from our hotel.
All KindsAll Kinds
All Kinds

While drinking, catching up and smoking shisha, Kirk and I befriended a few local ladies who emobodied all of the different aspects of this foreign land.
Everyone is in on itEveryone is in on it
Everyone is in on it

While walking around Cario, a elderly man befriended us and, after a short discussion, invited us to dine with him at a local joint...which ended up being a plastic table put under a tree on a curb. He paid for the meal but then said "you can give me a donation for our church...say 50 Egyptian Pounds (which is around $10). Little did we know the rest of the evening we would be taken around Cairo by this guy and eventually find out he, along with every other person in Egypt, is out to rip off "whites".
Chasing the Dream in CairoChasing the Dream in Cairo
Chasing the Dream in Cairo

Earlier in the day I had met a German girl who, after a phone call, Kirk and I met up with her and her friends at a pub in Zamalek district. We the preceeded to drive around until 5am looking for a good place to drink and dance...but ended up eating and smoking shisha on top of the Odeon Hotel.
Egyptian MuseumEgyptian Museum
Egyptian Museum

This is the only photo I have as you are not allowed to take a camera into the museum. With thousands and thousands of artifacts, Kirk and I strolled around the joint making humorous quibs and laughing a great deal (boy, these guys are so stiff!). The mummy section was well worth it.
Old Muslim CairoOld Muslim Cairo
Old Muslim Cairo

One of the mosques in the old muslim part of Cairo. Kirk and I wandered the narrow streets with a guide (of course we did not ask for one but the guy just offered...right!).
Camel JockeyCamel Jockey
Camel Jockey

Kirk poses with a butcher in Muslim Cairo and a Camel Carcass..
Sidewalk SheeshaSidewalk Sheesha
Sidewalk Sheesha

An old man in the old city prepares his sheesha.
Water CartWater Cart
Water Cart

These devices dispense water for locals to drink....yummy. We passed and instead went for sealed bottles.
Hat MachineHat Machine
Hat Machine

We stumbled upon a Fes hat making store during our walk in the Old Muslim section of Cairo.
AlleywayAlleyway
Alleyway

Basic passage through the old muslim area of Cairo.
MosqueMosque
Mosque

Mosque in the old Muslim section.
SpiersSpiers
Spiers

The spiers of the gate that leads into the old Mulsim section.
Making FriendsMaking Friends
Making Friends

Kirk and I pose with the local girls and their friend after sharing sheesha and coffee.
Water JugsWater Jugs
Water Jugs

People put out these jugs of water for locals to drink.
Bad MarketingBad Marketing
Bad Marketing

This clothing store in Cairo is obviously using the wrong manikans to sell clothes to Egyptians....as no Egyptians look like this!


Tot: 0.5s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 33; qc: 159; dbt: 0.3357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb