Egypt and the story of 1000 camels


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
September 21st 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone!
In the last few days I have realized the pinnacle of my round the world trip. Seeing the Egyptian pyramids is the number one thing I have always wanted to do. I booked a tour for this trip as I thought Egypt would be the most difficult place to travel alone. I did spend one day by myself in Cairo before the tour started and I did find a woman alone to be besieged by vendors and touts. I had one man offer me 1000 camels if I would move to the desert and be one of his wives. I don't think he actually had 1000 camels, so it was probably a joke.
Due to the tour, Egypt will be the number one most expensive place I will visit. But I have never stayed in nicer hotels either. The hotel here in Aswan even has a bar in the middle of a pool. Decadence at its best. The group I am with is quite small: only 11 people. They are all from English speaking countries, but I am the only American.
The Egyptian metro has two cars on each train reserved for women, which I found quite nice. The
Pyramids!Pyramids!Pyramids!

There are 9 total Giza pyramids. 3 large and 6 small. The 6 small pyramids are for the wives of the respective kings.
women here are even more devoted to the Burqua tradition, and everyone wears head cloths. It is interesting to see the way the teenage girls have made a fashion out of their scarves. They also wear western style dresses with long sleeve shirts underneath to maintain the required modesty while still being fashionable.
Now is the end of the month of Ramadan. A Muslim month which follows the lunar calender (so it is different every year) every day Muslims must fast between sunrise and sun set. They are not allowed for even drink water. After a month of this fasting there is a celebratory feast for three days. I found this a very interesting phenomenon from a tourist point of view and I was glad that I got to be in Muslim countries for parts of Ramadan.
The Egyptian museum doesn't allow cameras and it isnt air conditioned except for the mummy rooms. Which I found frustrating. I really wanted a picture of the mummy kings. Oh well. There is a copy of the Rosetta stone in the Egyptian museum. They are very sad that the original is in the British Museum.

Jennifer's Top Ten World Sights to See
Columns of the TempleColumns of the TempleColumns of the Temple

the tops are shaped like flowers

1) Pyramids of Giza
2) Taj Mahal India
3) Great Barrier Reef Australia
4) Cherry Blossoms in Ueno Park Japan
5) Sistine Chapel Rome
6) Canals of Venice
7) Trans Siberian Railway Beijing to Moscow
8) Stonehenge England
9) Eiffel Tower Paris
10) Great Wall China




Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Pyramids peak over the buildings in front of themPyramids peak over the buildings in front of them
Pyramids peak over the buildings in front of them

The city of Giza is right at the footsteps of the pyramids.
The SphinxThe Sphinx
The Sphinx

The Sphinx guards the pyramids. The beard of the sphinx is in the British Museum.
The Sphinx from the backThe Sphinx from the back
The Sphinx from the back

It has the head of a man and the body of a lion. Meaning the strength of a lion and wisdom of man.
Unfinished obeliskUnfinished obelisk
Unfinished obelisk

Granite for the obelisks was quarried in Aswan. This is an obelisk that was commissioned but developed flaws and had to be abandoned.
Ptolomy TemplePtolomy Temple
Ptolomy Temple

This temple was commissioned by the Greeks as a gift to the Egyptians when the Greeks invaded Egypt.
Temple courtyardTemple courtyard
Temple courtyard

This temple is dedicated to Isis


22nd September 2009

nice camel
I don't think that we have room for the camel, so don't go sending it home. By the way, is it as hot as it looks?
23rd September 2009

sphinx...
the sphinx isn't doing a very good job. is that why they had to hire guards? what would you do with the other 999 camels? i like the jewelry shop best. whos the golden girl with the bunny ears? are you halfway thru your list yet?

Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb