Egypt - Cairo


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
December 18th 2006
Published: December 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My last few days have been spent in Cairo; Egypt.

The flight over was not as smooth as I had wished for, since the stop over in Paris was slow and quite congested. (That’s airlines for you) After arriving in Cairo and finally finding my luggage I was disappointed to find my sleeping bag missing. So I waiting and waited hoping it would come along the conveyer belt but the waiting proved unfruitful.

Many people seemed to be missing their bags and suitcases so after a while most of us headed to the Air France counter to lodge a claim and ask questions. It appeared something along the lines of a strike had upset the luggage handing process (though my sleeping bag missing was definitely not due to any strike - either rough handling or theft) eventually I desired to depart the terminal.

A driver was ready to meet me holding my name up. I had assumed earlier that night that he must have left since the flight was over an hour late, however he had been waiting for me for over 5 hours by this stage…. Another of the flight passengers (Benjamin) was without his luggage and had no place to stay so I offered him a lift and mentioned where I was staying. The hostel was nice we had a private bathroom and 3 beds for 90 L.E. The last couple of days have been spent walking around the streets of Cairo, Visiting Giza, the pyramids, the Nile, the shops, eating Egyptian food and shopping.

The trip to see the pyramids via horse and camel was very interesting however dealing with the tour guides was a bit of a pain in the butt. They are very pushy and want more money. Benjamin and I managed to haggle the initial price down and get a dinner at the base of the pyramids thrown in for free but the tour guides had a plan and led us in a secret back route. So entry fees were avoided. This didn’t bother me but just meant that the tour guides had to pay off the police here and there to keep us going. All in all it was great fun and well worth doing.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Pyramids of GizaPyramids of Giza
Pyramids of Giza

A friend (Ben) and I grabbed a couple of horses and rode around the pyramids of Giza and the phyinx then was offered a free dinner at the base of the pyramids. It was great.
Giza againGiza again
Giza again

Camel riding around Giza, pretty cheap so I thought I would like to atleast experience riding a camel.
Giza againGiza again
Giza again

Ben and myself infront of the pyramids
Giza againGiza again
Giza again

The sphinx
How about hereHow about here
How about here

I wanted to climb to here but men with guns didn't like that idea...
almost sunsetalmost sunset
almost sunset

As the sun goes down
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Looking over towards the Sahara


19th December 2006

hiya
Hey Kim, just had a browse through your travelblog... amazing pictures. Cairo looks fantastic - I'm very jealous sitting here in boring old Brisbane :)) Enjoy it all and take it easy, Maki
21st December 2006

Kim of the desert
The camel photo is awesome. Reminds me of the little peddler guy from Aladdin. You didn't manage a monkey side kick did you?

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 86; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb