Grocery Shopping


Advertisement
Djibouti's flag
Africa » Djibouti
March 17th 2006
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Djibouti IDjibouti IDjibouti I

Local View
Hi All,
We sure wish that we had discovered this blog thing while we were in Vienna. There was lots to report from there. It is a bit "quiet" here. We are continuing our walks along the seawall, which runs along Port Djibouti. The port is one of the main income sources for this country which a bit smaller than Massachusetts. I believe the population is less than 500,000. Actually, the port is impressive with its four huge craines that mainly unload conex containers. These containers are piled up to ten high, and take up acres and acres of space. Quite a busy place for somewhere that is literally nowhere....
We did check out the local grocery stores (there are two). One is French owned and has quite a nice selection of food and dry goods items. The other store is a bit more basic. As I mentioned earlier, everything is imported here, and the prices reflect that. A dozen eggs cost $7.00; a package of frozen vegetables runs around $4.00, and a loaf of ordinary sliced white bread is $3.00. I feel sorry for the Embassy people who are assigned here. While they do get an allowance for
Public BuildingPublic BuildingPublic Building

Monica in front of People's Assembly Building
the increased costs, the allowance certainly doesn't cover their added cost of living. One of the Embassy wives told me that when she takes her children out for a bite, that a hamburger and french fries costs her $25.00. Fortunately our allowance covers our food costs.
I have attempted to include pictures with my blogs, but to no avail. I guess it's operator error. However, I will keep trying.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Seawall WalkSeawall Walk
Seawall Walk

Phil on Seawall Road at Port Djibouti


18th March 2006

recent addition
Phil, The place looks clean and well kept. Keep trying to load photos as its a great way for all to see what you and Monica are doing. It looks like Christine and Chad finally sold their half of the duplex. They should move in with us on the 25th and stay until their new mansion is completed in June/July. Take care, Steve
18th March 2006

Love the Blog
Hi Phil and Monica, Just wanted to let you know that I enjoy the travelblogs that you send. Makes me feel like I am almost there with you. Must admit it is probably a little cooler here. Stay well and we are looking for the next blog. Carole and Chuck
20th March 2006

Got your message
Dad, I got your message last night on my home phone. I had a soccer game at 7:00pm and must have just missed your call. This Sunday my game is at 6:00pm so if you try to get a hold of me around 4:00pm I'll most likely be home then. The pictures look great!! I see you're already counting down the days;). Tracy and I did talk to Nana. All is well with her. Talk to you Sunday. Love, Steph
26th March 2006

Travelblogs and Pictures
We are really enjoying reading about all about your adventures and seeing the pictures. We took your mom and my mom out on St. Patricks Day for corn beef and cabbage. We all had a good time. Keep the news coming.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb