Landmarks


Advertisement
Congo, Democratic Republic of the's flag
Africa » Congo Democratic Republic » West » Kinshasa
June 24th 2010
Published: June 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, June 24, 2010

I've returned from my trip to the DRC. My purpose in returning to the DRC was to see places I remembered from my youth. I was only 11 years old when our family left the Congo. Reality generally reflected my memory except everything seemed smaller or shrunken which is to be expected. Here are places I lived, schools I attended, trees I climbed, and scenes I remember from my youth.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The soccer field Nsona MpanguThe soccer field Nsona Mpangu
The soccer field Nsona Mpangu

We were evacuated from this field in 1960.
The bumpy road to Nsona MpanguThe bumpy road to Nsona Mpangu
The bumpy road to Nsona Mpangu

This road was a nightmare when wet or dry. Mud when wet and dusty when dry.
The train station at LufuThe train station at Lufu
The train station at Lufu

This was a landmark on any trip to Nsona Mpangu.
The hospital Kimpese IMEThe hospital Kimpese IME
The hospital Kimpese IME

Where my little brother was born in 1959.
Hospital Sona BataHospital Sona Bata
Hospital Sona Bata

Where my little sister was born in 1967.


25th June 2010

Landmarks and memories!
Thanks for the memories! What great photos! They take me back more than 40 years. The water tower in Nsona Mpangu, the house there, the hill behind the Swedish mission, the basketball court where the Condors played, the hostel where I broke my arm, the building where I went to 2nd grade, etc.
24th September 2010

NOSTALGIA
Thanks for these pictures to remind me again Nsona Mpangu It is the mission School where I got my secondary diploma.My God bless you.When I saw those pictures,I remembered the soccer player stadium and the church where I was a singer in choir named Chorale Centrale de Nsona Mpangu later ''Grand Choeur''. JIM LOVE M.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb