Testing, testing, does this thing work?


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso
April 14th 2010
Published: April 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As part of my Engineers Without Borders placement in Burkina Faso this summer, I'm officially starting my very first blog. I have to admit, it's pretty scary to think that for the next four months I will be broadcasting my thoughts, learnings and feelings for anyone and everyone to read, and this is only one of the SMALL changes I'm going to have to make to prepare for the trip.

If my last stint in Burkina is any indication, there are several other changes I can look forward to upon my arrival this May. If you're the adventurous type, you can try to live a more Burkinabè lifestyle this summer by implementing some of these elements into your life in Canada (or wherever you are!):

Bucket showers (fab for saving water! Even better with cold water)

Windows open all the time (the fresh air does you good, and the crickets that get inside will do wonders helping you stay awake on those nights when you have lots of homework to do)

Hanging out with all the cuuute kids (spending time with children is just good for the soul)

3-hour siestas at noon (talk to your boss about the possibility of re-arranging your work hours)

Tea with neighbours and friends daily (a time to reconnect with old Mr. Wilson next door)

Being able to go over to friends and neighbours houses anytime, without calling (I'm sure your mom/best friend/dog walker would be happy to have you. But be aware,if you start this trend your friends, family and acquaintances may also show up unannounced anytime they feel like it...)

These are just a few of my favorite elements of the Burkinabe lifestyle that I am looking forward to living this summer. I'll leave the more challenging lifestyle changes to a later blog entry...

Oh, and by the way, here is a little somethin' about Burkina Faso: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burkina_Faso

Welcome to my blog!

- Chelsea

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb