In Bobo, Burkina Faso


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Hauts-Bassins » Bobo-Dioulasso
July 12th 2009
Published: July 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I finally got out of Mali --- described as the “Jewel of West Africa” --- but I don’t agree. It is a very wearing place to visit as an independent backpacker. Perhaps it would be better with money, a good guide and a 4 x 4. There is too little economic activity other than ripping off tourists. Also there are few ex-pats so almost all white people are tourists. Actually glad to leave, which was a hassle. Tuesday I bought a ticket for a ride to the highway at 11:30. We finally left Djenne at 3:30. I was told to be at the highway (Carafoure) at 5-6ish. Then I find out that the “bus” to Bobo only arrives at the Carafoure at 9ish every night. Why tell me to be there 3-4 hours early!? TIA! I sat in the dirt until a packed, hot van picked me up. Finally got to Bobo at 11 am (no real problem at the border, but had to sleep on the dirt road for a couple hours while we waited for the border post to open). Met up with Anil again at hotel Casafrica, although he took off for Ouagadougou last night. I’ll meet up with him for the weekend in Ouaga. I’m still not sure about the Togo visa (do I have to go to Lome?). The Canadian embassy can’t give me more pages in my passport! Had to set Deb straight as to future. It’s raining like a b**ch today, but eventually I have to go into town to use email and call the French embassy. So many mosquito bites! Myfloquin better work! Also have emailed that Katie girl, so we’ll see. 90th anniversary of the 3rd Ypres (Passendale) today. So much mud outside in Bobo, but not what it might have been for me but for the providence of time. I worry about things that are trivial by today’s standards. What would they have been by the standards of 1917? The passage of a mere 90 years has saved me, all of us. The Burkina Faso flag is beautiful, the tailor’s green less so…


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb