Out on the town, sort of


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
May 8th 2006
Published: May 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody,
So last night I had my first night on the town. Sort of. It was a Sunday night so it wasn't too busy, and there was only myself and one of the geologists here, so the two of us went out for pint (we found a place that had draught beer!!!!), and then some dinner, and then to this place called "Le Jardin de L'Amitie" which has live outdoor music every night. I guess I should mention that pretty much all eating and drinking establishments here are outdoor. Anyway, it was a really fantastic time. The geo is someone I met while I was here last time, so one of the few people I already knew. We had some great talk about social projects (he used to work for a water NGO) and other cool stuff. He's got a daughter my age who is in uni in Kansas studying something crazy about planes... fluid mechanics I think? Anyway, it's far from my realm of expertise!

I forgot to mention last time, but on the plane on the way over, I met a bunch of girls all traveling together. About 30. Turns out they're nurses who are doing 3 months of community service in Burkina required for their degrees. They're all from France, judging by the accent, so I've been keeping an eye out for them in town. Hopefully I will bump into them and make some friends.

Today was my first day back in the office with everyone here. It's quite a busy place with people coming and going all the time. From my desk, I have a great view of a fruit tree in the front yard. It's big and leafy, but not surprisingly, I don't recognize the fruit. They kind of look like kiwis, so that's my guess for now. Also, it's been decided that I should learn to drive a manual transmission (finally!) so I guess the driver will be giving me lessons soon. All the trucks here are manual, so if I want to drive at all (I'm thinking pretty much only in emergencies because the driving here is crazy) I'll need to learn. No good being stranded! Besides, after driving a cube van the other day, I'm feeling pretty confident. 😊

Anyway, that's it for now. There's some work stuff going on that might be interesting, but I'll keep that under my hat until it's confirmed. You'll just have to check back and see! 😊 Thanks for stopping by, and a special thanks to all of you who have left comments. It's really nice to know people are reading this!

-Brownie

Advertisement



8th May 2006

don't have one
Is a year up yet? Miss you bnack here, but I'm glad to hear that you are doing well. Take care of yourself.
8th May 2006

beer in Burkina?!
I'm all about hearing more about the outdoor music cafes and beer in Burkina! Do Tell!

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0769s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb