The wind is blowing and the heat is coming!


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
February 25th 2008
Published: February 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

As February is getting to an end, the winds started blowing!! I thought the winds were on when Dee was here, but I was surely mistaken. Tornadoes of dust form sometimes in the middle of the street and the wind blows so hard that it makes my moped move sometimes. What is weird though, is that it only blows during the day and at night, it's calm. I suspect the sun and the heat have something to do with that. I'm sure my dear Stacey would have some weather scientific reason for this! ahah

At least the nights are still cool for now, but the heat will come and the sweat will be pouring out of the pores! I dont want this to happen, at all even. The weather was so nice this past little while. Now, with the heat, it will rise to probably 40 and over of dry Sahelian desert sun and wind! The water will start to be cut very shortly for temporary periods. Thanks God I got a water tank on top of my house! But the dryness is a bit unbearable to be honest. My skin is very dry and starts having little white parts pealing after 2 days, my nose is dry too! and the worse, it's the unstopable coughing that occurs due to the wind, pollution and dust coming and going from everywhere! There is not a time here where I wasn't sick actually. Always had a sore throat, a cough, a cold, a runny nose, sneeze.. all together or at separate time! I really cant wait to be back to Canada just to end this health issue. However, it's for sure better than gettting malaria, typhoid, parasites, E-coli or any other things my dear friend Sara got over the last couple months!

On top of all this, there will be a strike starting soon in Ouaga!! Which I totally agree with actually. They will be striking to lower the prices of food as all products got so expensive, reasons why I also have a hard time budgetting with my money lately. Food is as expensive as back home I would say!
On the 28th, governmental offices will be closed and probably that all stores will be closed and maybe even gaz stations. Last week, they were striking in Bobo-Dioulasso, where there was some crashing and breaking done.. So, since I don't know how long this one can last here in Ouaga... I have to stock up on food and other items I might need for the next little while. It aint easy!!! So.. powder milk, sugar, tomato paste, chicken broth cubes, coffee, laundry soap, javel water, mayonnaise, butter, oil, matches and tea. I think that's the list!

I will for sure have to also full my gaz too and maybe even have a little container of gaz at home. Who knows!
God!! This is funny to me, but I really hope it does change something, cause just to buy all this will cost me so much!

Apart from all of this movement starting, my life is going alright. I discover a lot about myself lately. My values and really who I am, what I stand for and what I truely believe in. I'm getting really African in a bunch of ways.. embracing their values and their way of living.
One thing I didnt think I would embrace though is the hierarchy they have with everything. I had a hard time understanding it at first.. but now that I get it.. I also do it. It surprises me actually, but I guess, being an Aries and having a strong head and wanting to master everything (yeah, I am conscious of this fault of mine) Now, I put myself on this African scale of their and wants to get to the top!

See, here, some people are higher than others, social classes are very important and matters a lot and influence who you talk to and who you will leave aside. Each tribe also has somewhat of a rank, where your tribe can be a slave to another tribe or a funny equal friend. It's a really complicated story about which I still have to inquire.. But nonetheless.. I now put myself on the scale in a way, actually in a different way. I do my own scale with the value of the heart of the person.

On Valentine's day, I went out with friends and ended up having one of the nicest love declaration ever (love without sex). Anyway. you will get what I mean with the story. My friend introduced me to his Morrocco friend, 54 years old and also director of Royal Air Morrocco. THis old funny man and I actually spent a long time talking and I actually enjoyed the conversation. We talked about so much, but mostly phylosophically. At the end of the night, he told him how he really like me, enjoyed my way of thinking, my values, my heart etc. He said he knew I get far in life and that he would help me in any way he could. It was so great. I should have recorded everything he said that night, it almost made me cry!

Yesterday again, I had my old friend Judi visiting and as we were talking, he also started this whole thing about me being such a good person and all that. That's all I hear these days and really, I have a hard time dealing with it. I have never actually taught of myself as that good. My mom would agree with this too! Anyway... it's nice! 😊

Anyway.. I dont have pictures this time as my batteries are uncharge and don't have much money to get new ones! So... pictures will be coming later. I just wanted to let you know how it was going for now!

Hope you are all doing fine!!
Big kiss!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb