Quest for a life less ordinary...THE GIRL DID IT!!!!


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana
October 20th 2007
Published: October 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

DAYS 22/23/24/25 17TH - 20TH October - Victoria Falls - Botswana

Wow, what a few days a difference can make...ok so after writing on my blog and telling you all that i was going to do a bungee there was no way I could back out...I have never ever been sooooooooo scared in my whole life....i was shaking like a leaf, especially when standing on the edge of the platform with just my ankles strapped together with a scrapey piece of rope and two towels...yes towels, hand towels!!!...I knew if i hesitated that i wouldn't do it so before they got to 5 I was off, arms outstretched like a bird....wow!, wow!, wow!, eekkkk!!!!what a feeling, not sure if i'd like to do it again, but it felt like such an accomplishment, don't even know why I felt so compelled to do it, but I guess it's all part of my quest to live a life less ordinary. I was boinging around like a ragdoll, a puppet on a string - when the poor guy came to fetch me whilst I was dangeling upside down in mid air, I just burst into tears, think i freaked him out a bit...but it was just pure emotion....awesome!!!!
Another highlight of the day- before my bungee -was a flight over Victoria Falls, what a beautiful place, Zimbabwe is stunning, such a shame about all its troubles, the people are so friendly too.
Back on the truck and we make our way to Botswana...the next 24 hours are somewhat different. Amanda, my lovely kiwi travelbuddy was feeling fairly poorly and ended up vomiting most of the way, so i was nurse Tarara for most of the journey. She was so poorly that we decided she needed to see a doctor, so when we arrived in Maun, we checked her in, she was delirious, could barely stand. I filled in the forms for her, saw the doctor with her, who was a complete muppet(!), and then went outside to go to the ATM...then, from out of no where I felt completely disorientated, then fell to my knees and just started vomiting...and then came the other end...oh bloody hell, the next thing Amanda saw was me being rushed through in a wheelchair... it was something between a mix of Little Britain and Carry On Doctor....what a palarva....anyway after a night on the drip, various blood tests and god knows what else, we ended up being in for two nights and was released this morning...talk about highs and lows....and we missed out on the delta which we are both gutted about, but we know a good hospital if anyone is ever passing through Maun! Will keep you all informed of this next stint of shenanigans... lots of love love love xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



1st November 2007

oh my gawwwd!!!
good posture, sister!!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb