Really in the bush now


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana
September 25th 2009
Published: November 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

LookingLookingLooking

This is the first crossing that we did not attempt. Unknown to me 200mtrs to the right was where we found the Hippo's
Geo: -19.1542, 23.7703

The morning we awoke to a thunder storm.. yep it was raining and the lightening was so bright it hurt your eye's even with them being closed, then the thunder came.. on my God.. the biggest bangs I have even heard..

Off we head.. we had read a note in the dunny that said we could follow the Kwai Community Road direct to the North Gate entrance to the Okavango delta National Park.. seems straight forward… We seem hell bent on finding the only dam roads that nearly deliver.. this time we could see the sign on the other side of a water crossing.. I waded out until I was half way up my thighs.. now I am not a real woose.. however when wading into a delta stream and things start to swim by (fishes in this instance) my clacker started to clack.. retreat swiftly with a dignified look on my face so Lisa will still think I am a real man!!.. Backtrack to the main road.

Arrive in Mababe village to find the main bridge is out.. chat with some villages and they said to head back 3km and turn right on the track.. simple.. of we go.. find the track and head in.. 5km and the 2nd river for the day is ahead.. no I had the fortunate luck to over hear a conversation back in Maun that said to zig zag this crossing because if you do not then the water will be head height, zig zag and it only is 1mtr deep.. the chap who was talking also indicated it was good to walk it first.. so I did.. nearly across Lisa says 'Darren there is bubbles coming up behind you'.. Clacker starts up again.. no worries we head through in the shorty and the water came up over the bonnet.. clacker starts up again..

Right now we think we are on track.. to keep a long story short.. there are numerous tracks without any signs and deep sand so deep the differentials were impacting on the ridge.. finally find somebody in a vehicle.. straight ahead was the info received.. not long after an open area next to the river.. Lisa spots some birds and grabs the Bino's (normal!) as we gaze happily at the birds (yep they were Brown Birds) I notice something in the water.. bugger me 4 Hippo's I screech with joy .. Lisa is unsure what to do as she is already in the vehicle, she recons she was looking for the camera!!.. then 3 young bull Elephants stroll in to have a drink.. Unreal.. I cautiously view behind the vehicle thinking what the hell else is going to pop up.. Now is the distressing part earlier I indicated we came to a dead end river crossing.. well just past the hippos we recognised the part of the river I had previously waded through .. Humm in hind sight maybe it was not my greatest decision.. retreat with dignity!!

Funny thing.. we had to pay a considerable sum of cash to have the privilege to drive into the NP and not a dam sign or anything to indicate we were heading to the North gate.. found some happy campers at the Kwai Community Camp Site (the camp sight was much better than their road).. they said 15 more Kms and three river crossings to go, just pick the most used looking track and you cant go wrong... awesome.. having done some river crossing it all sounded good..

1st river crossing.. easy.. Get lost on in the labyrinth of track several times.. just as we come up to the 2nd river crossing some vehicles had just gone through and the indicated the best way through.. awesome.. a bit deeper then expected.. we tag in behind them and head for the last crossing.. the 3rd loomed up and it was a cracker.. not real fast not real wide just deep and the NP chaps had placed some bricks in the water for our fording convenience..We have video..

Finally arrive at Kwai Gate cross the new log bridge and head into camp worn out and tired from the effort... showered and fed we settle down next a fire.. it was now dark and as I started to write this Blog there was a very large growl from the other side of the camp site.. Yep Lisa legs it for the car.. other campers grab their spot lights and I make a dash for ours.. all good a Wart Hog was having a grumpy session.. My initial risk assessment was there is other campers between us and the noise thus all good no need to rush.. Lisa recons I have made my self out to be a hero, as I did not mention that on this occasion I was also moving fast yelling where the F**ck is the spot light.. The fire is now considerable larger and yep we are warm.

Darren and I in one of our brief moments of calm were reflecting on the volatility of spending time in the African bush. There is no let up as "wild" things do not know when we have had enough for the day and just need time out to cook tea and reflect. It appears that every time we relax something happens. We could not help but reminisce about a few possums and a kangaroo or two and god forbid a dingo.

Advertisement



30th September 2009

Great to hear the latest Hi guys , Enjoyed reading the last 3 posts & glad to hear that you haven't been eaten by wild animals yet !! Any photos of the cheetah(s) ?? If so , please upload some photos. Love from Mike , Averiel &
the 4 Cats !
30th September 2009

Looks like something outa Monty Python - is that a fag in your mouth Darren tsk tsk LOL
30th September 2009

Well bugger me, scratch scratch I Fink that's a a croc, Shelia get me my knife.<br>Not a great look Darren. Lisa why did you take a picture of D scratching his bum? Rest of it looks great?<br>Sean

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb