Dumela from Botswana


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » North-West » Chobe National Park
December 6th 2006
Published: December 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

That means Hi from Botswana.
I'm really just passing through Botswana at the time.
I spent the better part of the last 3 days on busses getting up here from Jo-burg and tomorrow I head over to Livingstone, Zambia. There wasn't much to see during most of the trip. Mostly I was driving through parts of the Kalahari desert. It wasn't barren, just lots of little scrub trees and bush.
I did see lots of cattle grazing and crossing the road. Which I found very strange because all throughout, what I've seen of Africa, nobody eats beef. They all eat chicken. Everywhere is fast food chicken. And I didn't see a single chicken along the road. Maybe that is it, all the chickens are dead and the cows are left living who knows.

Though you could tell it was Africa. Cattle crossing signs changed to zebra and elephant crossing signs. Even saw one zebra on the road... alive and crossing.

Ok, I know that is boring.
But I had to say something from Botswana.
Botswana is one of those countries that I always through out... especially when I'm teasing Martina about where she is from. It wasn't until the last year or two that I really realized where Botswana was or what it had to offer. Once I did I knew it was a country I had to visit. It was also a place that when I was talking about this trip, someone told me... you will be sending postcards from weird out of the way places like Botswana.

Well the other morning I woke up camping in Botswana. How cool.
I'll be back in January to really take in the country. I plan on seeing the Okvango Delta and maybe the Kalahari Desert then. I'm pretty stoked about spending time in Bots.

But for now I'm headed into Zambia.
What has been going on. Like I said. Just bus travel. It is very easy, though long here in Botswana.
I got up yesterday morning and was at the bus stop by 8:30. We had to wait until 11AM before a bus came by with space in it. Oh yeah, it is safe to hitchhike in Bots as well, but nobody stopped.

It is the rainy season here. Though the rains have been late in starting. When they do come they will just be afternoon downpours for a couple of hours... can you say siesta!!
But it is hot as here. I looked at my thermometer around 9AM and it was 30C, about an hour later it had topped out at 50C... the thermometer is now broken.

Oh well, it was a fun experience being cramped 4 across the back seat of a mini van for 3 hours. But I think I like bus travel better than plane travel. For me it just seems more relaxing. It just requires lots of patience.

Well that has been my last 4 days. Actually lots of fun for me, in a strange sick sort of way.
A couple of pics

Advertisement



11th December 2006

Dude, nice warthogs. They were my favorite in Africa.

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0997s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb