Contrasts


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » Kweneng
September 20th 2009
Published: September 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Our village of Kopong, much of Botswana, and my own perceptions are definitely studies of contrast. Wealth and poverty are shoulder to shoulder as is tradition and modernization. My thoughts and opinions can be just as contradictory. I sometimes find it both fascinating and fearful.

On the family compound where we live is a new, modern, and spacious five bedroom home. The two dogs that stand guard in the yard are probably better fed than the children in the house next door. Our little home of less than 400 square feet is remarkably luxurious as well, when compared to the neighbor’s. Our diet is certainly more rich, nutritious and varied. Though not always reliable, we do have power and water within the walls of our cottage. Neither luxury is available on the neighboring compound.

A friend in the community went to the capital on a Saturday with a shopping list from one of his children that consisted primarily of snack foods no different than what an American teen would request. That same day we saw the children next door picking molded fat cakes from the ground and eating them, ones that we’d allowed to spoil and thrown into the alleyway for the free roaming chickens.

At the 20th Anniversary Celebration for the junior secondary school where I volunteer, young men performed traditional dance steps to entertain us, but the music they moved to came from a CD played through a blaringly loud PA system in the thin walled main hall of the school. Their costumes were a lively combination of traditional leather and bright colored T shirts. Their motions were fluid and ancient, yet permeated with hip-hop attitude. There were elders in the audience who as children most likely had never set their bare feet within the walls of a school. The thoughts of the youth there were a mix of confidence in bright, adventurous futures and resignation that at the end of this term, at the ages of sixteen and seventeen the doors of formal education would be locked to them and prospects of paid work dim.

I know as a newcomer and outsider that all I see is filtered through thick, though often invisible lenses of my own culture. I know too, that it isn’t wise to judge what I don’t understand. I am aware of the dangers of acting rashly. Something I may do with the intent of helping may have the opposite effect. I thought I came here with both the desire and the ability to help, but as time passes I am less sure of myself and my motives. I ask myself if I am here to see tangible results of my efforts and pat myself on the back, or if when the time comes I will be willing to leave seeing no tangible results, but knowing only that I’ve done my best to offer my skills and abilities. I also wonder about other offerings. I do have money in savings and investments back home. Do I give handouts to the neighbor children, knowing that they are hungry? What do I give, how do I give it and how much do I give? What will be the long term result of it? These questions of what to do and how to do it arise daily. Sometimes they relate to the pragmatic, to the mundane, but often they are questions of a deep spiritual search, ones that I find uncomfortable and not easily answered or ignored.

My only certainty is that I am deeply grateful for the journey, for the comfort of friends and family, and for being able to touch that place in my heart where I find peace in the uncertainty, knowing that the slightest breeze will shift everything, if only for a moment.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

ImpermanenceImpermanence
Impermanence

Kopong Cemetery


20th September 2009

comments on contrast
Shannon, Wow what a beautiful piece of reflection! As a social worker I related from your perspective in Botswana to the plight of the poor right here in Idaho and the attitude of the rich toward the poor.For example undocumented persons in Idaoh are blamed by the wealthy of taking up too much of our medical resources. Reality is that they only account for a small percentage of "indigent" care. It's easier for people to identify the "Mexicans" as the problem when in fact there are 236,000 Idahoans uninsured who drain the system much more comparitvely! Racism is something rarely mentioned here in the Treasure Valley yet always looming. No matter how you feel regarding your effectiveness or ineffectivenss, continue to be greatful for the journey! I've been working as a social worker for for 7 years now. I experience constant ups and downs regarding outcomes.Unfortunately outcomes are not always successfull. Friday I discharged a young man who badly needs treatment and counseling and his dad is completely unwilling to obtain either. I had to walk away from him standing on crutches and knowing he was alone at home for several more hours unitl dad returned. I worked very hard with dad to recognize the dangers of leaving his son untreated.Refusal was all I was able to obtain. So I like you I remind myself whatever I did in the span of this kid's life, I hope he will find his path to peace and good health. Please keep us in your prayers, Victor is returning home soon and I need to be fit and strong in all areas of my life as we love him and support his recovery. Love you and miss you my dear friend!
20th September 2009

Shannon, as usual, your writing/descriptive ability brings your experiences alive for the rest of us. It's interesting to me as well that you articulate the feelings - concerns and doubts - that many of us have in whatever corner of the world we are laying our heads down at night. I so often wonder if I am being useful in this world, am I offering as much as I could/should physically, mentally, spiritually? I guess I had the misperception that someone actually out "doing" whether in the Peace Corps or some other "official" capacity would feel that just by signing up and doing the job these concerns would be erased or at least minimized. How refreshing to know that you are still humble Shannon. :-) I am sure that the people of your village will miss you when you are gone as much as your friends and family here miss you. As always, I enjoy your blog entries and look forward to more!
20th September 2009

Wow
Hi Shannon, Now I really know that you are the perfect person for this type of life--I am so glad that you have the opportunity to be there. I know that just by your being there, you are making a positive difference. You are so wise. I just got back from Spain, visiting my daughter and grandkids and son-in-law. I hope to see you when you return to the states. LOve and hugs, Phyllis
21st September 2009

Tough Questions
Tough questions, Shannon. Hard for those who think about them in this country; harder, I would imagine, for you as you directly and daily face the very different reality of life in Africa. You will come up with good answers. Had a great rehearsal with the Intergenerational Choir on Wednesday. How Vashti and Will kept a packed room together and having fun while moving forward I don't know; but they did.
21st September 2009

As always your depth of heart and ability to communicate it with humor amazes and blesses me. Thank you for the pics and update. I miss you!
26th September 2009

In Awe!
Shannon, It's about time I read this beautifully, yet profoundly sad, confused and truth about how much we can do to help in some places or for some peoples that may or may not see the need for changing! And the stark reality of the rich living next to and watching little children hunger or anyone for that matter, and not seem to care or notice. It hits me every day here in the states too. You hear on the news about this billion dollar state of the art stadium built for football in Texas, and you wonder how can someone have that kind of money and know how many people are homeless and hungry and not give to them instead!!! Like I keep telling you, I must be an alien, because I just don't and never will understand the people of this world. I know w/my whole heart if I had that kind of money, yes I'ld pay all my debts off, which aren't many but then the most fun about having that kind of money, for me, would be to see how and where I could help others as much as possible. I'ld most want to help people that were trying to help themselves first, then help the ones that couldn't but needed help. Anyway, I'll put that on my list. I love your pictures and found this writing to be more like poetry. I love and miss you way way bad my dear sweet sister. All my love, yer A.sis

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb