Crossing Botswana


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » Ghanzi District
August 6th 2010
Published: August 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

BushmenBushmenBushmen

Elder
When I was planning this trip; I could not find any project that suited me or my timetable but I needed to get up to Livingston, so I joined an overland tour that went from Windhoek to Livingston in 10 days. The total tour actually went from Cape town to Nairobi, but people join join for legs of the journey. the total people on the tour was 22 + driver (Steve) and tour leader (Ma ), at Windhoek, 5 people left and 5 new ones joined, myself being one of them.
After meetings on the first evening, we left Windhoek early and headed east towards the Botswana border. This day we would be traveling in the truck for approx. 8 hours and although it sounds awful, it was actually OK as it gave everyone an opportunity to swap seats and get to know each other. Having such a wide range of ages, nationalities, and personality types could make for a disastrous trip, but it was a good bunch and we all got on well.
The truck is a high overland truck with storage for all the equipment including luggage, tents, food, kitchen etc, and the seating is above. As there is
BushmenBushmenBushmen

Looking for roots
an an odd number of females, I got a tent one my own which is great although it means that I have to put it up every evening and take it down every morning on my own, although there is always somebody willing to help if I need it.
That night we camped in a site in the Kalahari desert, and the next morning we observed the Bushmen (San) demonstrate their ways and customs, and how they survive living in the harsh lands of the Kalahari. It was really interesting, but their ways, are like all other indigenous people, dying out. Later in the day we headed for Maun, this is where we get ready for 3 days in the Okavango delta, which is the worlds largest inland delta. That evening we took a flight over the delta to get a preview of where we would be going.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

BushmenBushmen
Bushmen

I am soooo tall
Okavango DeltaOkavango Delta
Okavango Delta

Call me Biggles
Okavango DeltaOkavango Delta
Okavango Delta

View from above


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb