Good Friends and Killer Hair


Advertisement
Benin's flag
Africa » Benin » South » Athiémé
November 22nd 2005
Published: November 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

So… A shot of sodabe and one and a half grand Castels later… I opened my mail. Two very good friends of mine had mailed me a book of selected essays/extracts, picked by famous authors themselves. Does this mean this was the cheapest book at Borders’ that had anything to do with my interests? Well, maybe. But I like to think that no, the book was selected for me with four loving hands (my two friends, not a four handed, orange-snotted monster) in consideration of the habit I have of writing. I wrote to myself, and then even quoted to those friends from my journal: “…they mailed me a “Writers’ Best” book, quoi. I am assuming that means that they think I am a good writer; if that is a proper assumption, I am even more wordless. I will read the book like my two favorite professors have given me a personal assignment. I will learn to write.” Putting that quote on the “cyber” kinda kills the surprise for them, but too bad so sad.
I do like to write. I can better view my world, and better voice my ideas and thoughts. That is, in English. Honestly, and I have thought this for a while, I think that to be perfectly square and even I need to work on translating what I write into French. I will let the translation into Mina/Kotafon be accomplished by a native speaker. Aside: how do I translate “orange-snotted monster” into French? Maybe it’s not the words, but the attitude I need to translate. End aside. As I think that though, I wonder if I might somehow offend the Beninese with my perspectives. I am trying to take the position of a Beninese reading my writing. This is what a Beninese might thinking, if I can anywhere nearly take that position accurately: 1) Three people on a moto? Obviously she hadn’t been here long. Try seven, including a Maman with a basin on her head and a baby on her back. 2) Voodoo? Duh. 3) Nintendo? Duh. 4) White SUVs are like H2s, a little ridiculous. Just get a good all-terrain bike, which is capable of taking you anywhere you might need to go. 5) Helmets are good, but awkward and for the privileged. 6) Yovo is not an insult. 7) Not everyone in the South of Benin completely understands every language in the South of Benin, thus the French at mass is not meant just for you.
That’s all I got at the moment. I am invoking my disclaimer from before, of all impressions being first. That applies to the entire two years.
I was on a zippy moto tonite, making me feel wild and free. I looked up at the stars as I zipped comfortably along and thought to myself, “Someday, when I am fifty years old, give or take any number of years, I will say to myself, ‘Man I loved my time in Africa. I was young and dumb and fearless.’” I don’t think I am dumb and fearless at the moment, but when I am fifty I will probably think that. (Oooh, and also I don’t mean that fifty is old, just in case I offended anyone.)
Which brings to mind some quotes from two favorite women of mine, one having to do with sipping tea on my veranda while enjoying the African evening and writing in my journal, and the other about how I will not ever regret choosing to live in Benin for two years. So far, right on both counts.
Because this is a short entry, I will add all the quips I have thought of to go with the picture of me with my tresses: first of all, I don’t know why Derique was camera shy. Secondly, if you’ll notice, I am now slightly strawberry blond. Thirdly, Aunt MB, you told me to protect the part in my hair from the sun. That seems a little tedious now. Fourthly, and my favorite, I am becoming a little more African-American all the time. I now have the hair as much as I have (dare I say it?) the butt to prove it. Fifthly, I don’t think I look like a dinosaur. And lastly, I wonder if Kate and Nancy remember cutting my hair? In April? In Atchison? In the United States? In college? Weird.

Advertisement



22nd November 2005

Happy!
You sound so great. I'm so happy for you. I definitly have NOT forgotten about cutting your hair. Or any of our roadtrips. I also got an email from Jimmy. He didn't tell me about the football game....i wonder why? Haha:)
6th December 2005

Great Reading
Just got your blog site from your mom and have spent my plan period and a little more reading your adventures. You have come a long way from the tire swing in Grandma's yard :) Look forward to more fun in the future.
7th December 2005

Hello!
Hey girly. I've been meaning to write you a little note. I hope things are going good. Be glad that you aren't in Ks. It is snowing like crazy and very cold. Surprisingly it is not too crazy here at work yet. Here is my email at work aallen@doulgas-county.com if you ever have time to write.
21st December 2005

SNOW HERE!!!
50 is not old. And no one who is truly 50 +, would be offended! This is such an exciting time for you! Even though missing home, especially for the Holidays, remember the predictability, and sameness of it all!!!And it will still be there when you come home. Kinda boring to us 50 +'s, at times. Stay warm for us! Sounds like you have too much mud there, at times also! Merry Christmas!!!Love You!!!Donna
28th December 2005

You look great in the pictures!! I love your hair that way. You are very wise. When you are 50 and you are wiser than you are now, remember to give yourself credit for being pretty dang wise back in "the day".

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 77; dbt: 0.087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb