Addition


Advertisement
Benin's flag
Africa » Benin » East » Parakou
August 16th 2008
Published: August 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Something bigger than my bicycleSomething bigger than my bicycleSomething bigger than my bicycle

And heavier, too.. this truck was at one point the biggest truck in the world.
No I'm not going to "add" anything.

But here are 3 more photos, taken since my last update. They have the internet, over here in Alberta, so I mind as well put it to use.

The truck: Fricking huge. Kind of crazy to walk underneith it. Or stand in front of it.

The valley: So, this last Thursday, myself and my teammates had a day off, in Fernie. We rode a little over 100km the day before, so we threw in a rest day into our scedule to keep from killing us all. And my, what a rest day in Fernie it was. We decided the best form of relaxation was to climb Mt Fernie in the morning, before our performance that day. Here we are on Saturday, and my quads now hurt even more than they did yesterday.. that was a big frickin mountain. Really, really beautiful, though.

Our ride into Fernie, last wednesday, was the day when we saw 2 moose. That was amazing, Im so happy how our group-moose-photo turned out.

and Alberta: This was us congregating at the provincial border sign. Due to hiking Mt Fernie the day before, the ride into
Mt. FernieMt. FernieMt. Fernie

A view from our crazy climb up the side of this beast..
Alberta was one of my harder riding days. Soo, so tired, and hurting.. and, generally being tired.

It seems like a lot of our evenings now end up involving a pub of some kind, too. Today is day #10 of the 10 day count-down till end of tour. Its pretty crazy thinking about how close we've all become; I love living with this group of people. There are a few small conflicts in our group, but Id have to say all in all we are a very happy bunch. I feel our success as a group is so much more significant considering the fact that we're bike-touring together in hot/cold/wet/dry climates, through not one but two mountain ranges, in addition to the fact that EVERYTHING else we do together, aswell.

Some other thoughts I havent been able to share yet:
I forgot how impacting the rocky mountains really are. You round a corner, and BAM.. your entire feild of vision, from earth to sky, is filled with.. rock. Huge, towering, humbling.. I feel that being around these giant beasts unearths something from deep inside me.. this powerful urge to scream, to try to become as big as the
AlboitaAlboitaAlboita

Yep, thats right. We made it!
mountains Im surrounded by. I feel the same sensation when witnessing powerful thunderstorms; like the power of the thunder cracks and streaks of lightening are surging within my heart and body. I feel as if every time a lightening bolt strikes, my body itsself glows with equal intensity.

My commitment to stop supporting the commercial meat market by becomming vegitarian. This is not a big change from the diet I had before Otesha, however I feel that Otesha has really opened my mind in regards to food, and what is involved with bringing bounty from all over the earth to your plate. There are several vegans on our team, and speaking with them has inspired me to pay more attention to what Im supporting with my purchases and what Im putting into my body. Im still feeling out exactly what my morals are when it comes to food, but I do know that I look at food in a much different light than how I saw it before Otesha.

I love riding my bicycle, more and more each and every day. Although the 100ibs of gear on my bike takes its toll on me once and a while. On days when Im tired, I move pretty slow. The heaviest bags on my bicycle are also sadly the ones that I never open.. definately there's some gear I could have done without. Oh well, too bad I like abusing myself physically so much.

Anyways, I best be off. I wish you all the best in everything that you wish to accomplish.

Take care

Tyler


Advertisement



Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb