Expolring Angola Day 1


Advertisement
Angola's flag
Africa » Angola » North » Luanda
April 10th 2012
Published: April 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So today we went for a drive with my Tio and Tia. There were 7 of us packed into a Landcruiser... Seat belts were not an option. The roads here are unbelievable. It's 4WDriving to the max. Lots of fun.



We took a drive out to a waterfall in Mabubas that my Tio wanted to show us. On the way he asked if we wanted to eat at a restaurant or if we wanted to eat at the market. We thought let's be adventurous and eat at the market (experience some local cuisine). Ummmm.... well you see that monkey... that was enough to change our minds.



We arrived at the waterfall and it was beautiful. There was a restaurant there where we ate some lunch. Daniel had cutlets which they cooked with Chorizo. Mum and I both ordered fish. My fish was actually fish head. Served in its entirety on a plate. Didn't look too appetizing but it was very nice. I'm sure my family find all this very amusing.



On the way home my Tio stopped on the roadside (seeing as that's how most people do business) and bought us some sugar cane. Being the westerner that I am I held it in my hand like WTF am I supposed to do with this. Luckily my 14yr old cousin showed me how to rip the bark with my teeth bite off a bit of sugar cane, suck it dry and then spit out the pulp. I thought what a great treat this was. Stored it in my memory bank... I'm gonna be putting sugar cane in my kid’s lunch boxes for school. A natural and organic alternative to lollies.



On that note the subject of kids has come up in EVERY conversation I've had. I'm 28 not and never been married and I don't have any kids.



"Um sorry I don't think I understood.... so you DON'T have any kids??"



Hahaha well at least I'm getting prepared as to putting some thought into what I'd feed them when the time comes.... right?



x


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

The windscreen on the carThe windscreen on the car
The windscreen on the car

First thing I had to ask was "Is this a bullet hole?"


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb