Wild Nights and Hot Days


Advertisement
South America
March 3rd 2011
Published: March 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I came home from the hotel I stayed at with Mayra around 10am and I was dead tired. She had to go to the American embassy to get her visa renewed so she can come to the EEUU in a few months. I arrived back at the hostel and immediately went to bed. The hostel has been waiting days for an inspector to come and check out the premisis to make sure that everything is up to date, and for this reason we had to stay in our room and not move a muscle because the hostel was only supposed to have 15 people and there are like 30 here. I was fine with that and I just passed out for three hours until around 1300 when i woke up and had an apple and some coke and Brett and I decided that we would see some ruins that are here in Lima right in the middle of the city. A traveller in the hostel named Riahla from Finland wanted to go too and so we waited for her and we set off to find these ruins. We walked along the streets of Miraflores which we hadn’t explored yet, they were lined with huge houses that I would love to live in, mansions with the flare of some age long past. We continued along this street towards the ruins and we had to navigate our way to them since it was a pretty complicated mess of streets that we had to go through. There were many restaurants and houses along the way and then all of the sudden, we come across this huge structure, a large mountain of bricks that appeared dusty and tan in the afternoon heat. It cost 10 soles to enter the ruins and we got a tour in English because Brett and the chica we were with no hablan el Espanol muy bien. The tour was pretty cool, we learned a lot about the previous inhabitants of Lima before the current denizens, they sacrificed women of the age 12-25 and they raised animals like llamas and guinea pigs. Guinea pigs are called “Cuy” here and they are considered a delicacy to eat in the restaurants. After the tour, which was informative but somewhat boring and very hot, we walked to Parque Kennedy which is by our hostel and Riahla went to explore a little, Brett and I went in search of a place to have a Pisco Sour, the national drink of Peru. We found ourselves a little bar on the main street where we sat and drank three Pisco Sours. We hadn’t eaten since lunch, when Brett and Will, a hostel friend, and I went to the corner bodega and got a sandwich. Will was concerned because he had gotten sick here from eating something skeptical however I wasn’t deterred and thought the sandwich was amazing. Will is a Canadian guy who has been here for a month however he ran out of money so he was going to take this super dodgy bus to the airport and Brett and I gave him some Soles to take a cab instead. He was very happy and thankful and we sent him on his way at that point. Brett and I sat in the bar on the street and talked for about three hours, just watching people and traffic and trying to remember that we were in Lima Peru. Who the fuck is in Lima Peru? Hahahahahah. After we drank we needed to eat so we came back to the hostel in time to say by to Will and then Brett and I went in search of some dinner. Normally we want to cook dinner here but since we were drunk I didn’t feel like cooking tonight in the hostel. We found a place along the street that runs parallel to our hostel and the main drag, it was a Chinese place and it was delicious and filling. Probably the most food I have eaten in one sitting since I have been here. Our server was talking to us about Eminem and 50 Cent along with a bunch of other American singers. He loved it. We ate our meals and had a smoke on the way back to the hostel. We stopped at the bodega on the corner where we got lunch and picked up some Cusquena, a beer that is made in Cusco and it’s my favorite. We got a few big boys to bring back to the hostel and we are drinking them now talking with the Chileans and the Fins and the Austrians and the Icelanders here at the hostel. I haven’t spoken English in a hot minute and I love it. My Spanish is getting so good. As I sit here and type this, the inspector del hostel is here and everyone had to be quiet as to not draw attention, however everyone is drinking and smoking and chilling on the verandah, it’s so nice outside tonight. Tomorrow I am not sure what I am going to do however I am sure it will be awesome, because everything down here lives up to my expectations and then some. I love all of you and hope you’re well, I’ll write soon and I hope that you are all enjoying these photos and my writings. If you have requests for something special or perhaps a poem in honor of you, let me know and I can make it happen. Haha. Hasta pronto.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



3rd March 2011

Really Tom???
Tom are you trying to pick up American woman by poem from South America. Come on bro! I once heard you tried to learn Enrique Iglesias - Hero in spanish to pick up woman. I am enjoying your writings and the pictures keep it up and have fun. I'll be there in no time.
3rd March 2011

Haha Tom, yes can you please post a poem in honor of me I would love that ;) Looks like you guys are having fun! Tell coon I said hi and hope you guys stay safe!!
5th March 2011

Come on now Biss
Mattcam, are you really surprised that Tom is attempting to use Poem to pick up American chicks? Somehow this doesn't shock me at all.
6th March 2011
Mas de Lima 012

too cool
Thats a trip Iv'e never seen anything like it!!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb