Back to the Orphanage


Advertisement
South America
August 22nd 2005
Published: August 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today I went back to the orphanage with Alyson and Nigel. They had bought some new knives for the kitchen staff and a sharpening stone. Their existing knives were so dull. Alyson I tried to use them last week to trim off the ends of green beans and we gave up and used our fingers to snap them off. So today, they presented them with the new knives. The women were so happy. Nigel also worked quite dillegently sharpening their old knives, while Aly and I shelled fava beans and peas. After a few hours, the women informed us that the children were not there today because they had a field trip. Apparently this past weekend was the dia de los niños. (day of the children) So today they were not on the premises. Aly and I decided to leave Nigel to finish with the knives(a boy´s thing, of course). We walked to the nursing home to say hello to the women and men that live there before they went to lunch.

After lunch I took a little nap. I had quite the headache(sinuses are bothering everyone due to the dry, dusty environment) I feel better now, but I went to town and bought some aspirin( they say bayer on them so I think I´m ok) I also had a lovely cappucino in the gingo plaza(not its official name) We are affectionately called gingos here. Our house is refered to as the casa de los gingos, although I told that to the driver of the motorized rickshaw and he had no idea what I was talking about, so I had to give the official address in order to get back. I´m getting by with my spanish, although you tend to rely on people when you are in a group. I get better practice when by myself. I need to learn more. I need to talk a class when I get home.

Time is flying by. I miss you all. I don´t really want to leave, but I do want to be home. I hope you are all well. Take care. XOXOXOXO

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb