Still trying to figure it out


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay
January 31st 2012
Published: February 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

1-31-12 Tuesday

The last day of January, it was a quite day at that. The rain started to settle in today so we finished fairly early. The last pump over was done on the pinot noir, which means that soon it will be moved to barrels. That will be exciting to see. The vineyard is known for the use of gravity to move wine so it will be very interesting to watch the process. Today was another day that proved that this is probably the first time they had four people here at once to work. I am not quite sure of my role here yet. Ben and Max both work on vineyards and know a lot about the day-to-day goings ons at a winery. Ori is here for the chemistry aspect and has a really good handle on that, and I am here to soak everything in.



I am spending the rest of the day in the hammock, not too shabby. I prefer it to any other spot in the house, and since we really don’t have too many places to sit down but some folding chairs and my bed, it is ideal. I’d rather be preoccupied here. I think it would be easier if I was traveling around and seeing different places but to be in the same spot everyday could get tiring. It gives me a lot of time to think, and I especially am missing home at this minute. It could be the lack of amenities here that really makes me miss life in CT. But it makes me appreciate home a lot more.



The people here are live very simply. There are two cars here for the 15 people who live on the property. They hardly leave the vineyard. The land also doubles as a working farm with sheep and cows that they sell for meat. There are dogs everywhere. Every time I turn around another dog appears. But they only stay outside. I’m not sure exactly why they are here, most of them are small dogs, and there are two large dogs that are used for herding the cattle and sheep. One of the dogs has a huge scrap on the backside and a fly laid eggs, 15 worms were coming out of the wound in huge gaping holes. No one was doing anything about it. They definitely look at pets very differently here. After seeing that I vowed not to touch another dog while I am here. And I didn’t eat for two days after.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb