Is there anything else to do here?


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » West » Colonia del Sacramento
April 17th 2009
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I got a little scared that you guys were stalking me after my last entry, so decided to put some months between us. Sorry about that. but we do continue.

So, from Maldonado, I skidaddled westwards for my final stop in Uruguay - Colonia. I'd heard really mixed reports on this place, with some people saying its a great place to stay for a few days, and others saying come and see the sights, then get out. Being as I had an urgent appointment with La Bombonera in Buenos Aires on Sunday (I arrived in Colonia on Friday) I would be following the advice of the second group.

And to be honest, I think it was them, and therefore I, who had it right. Colonia's main "draw" is its historic old city, with people daytripping over from Buenos Aires just to see it. But the fact that it is possible to daytrip it from Buenos Aires should tell you that it doesn't take very long before you're retracing your steps. I arrived in Colonia at about 2pm on the Friday, and by 6 I think I'd been round everything there is to see. It was a pleasant few hours, and it was quite cool that you could see Buenos Aires when you went up the lighthouse, but thats about it.

Having exhausted all of what I planned to do in Colonia on day one, I paid a visit to the tourist office to ask if there was anything else to do. For all the use they were, they could have been replaced with root ginger. Therefore, I spent my second day going for a little meander along the waterfront, arriving at the old bullring. After a quick wander round, I'd had my fill of excitement, and considered a swim. Seeing the dubious brown colour of the Rio Plata soon changed my mind though.

So that was Colonia, and indeed that was Uruguay. I had to apologise before about the lack of enthusiasm in an entry, and I'll do it again now. It's just I found it hard to find anything in Uruguay to get too enthusiastic about. It's certainly a decent place just to while away some time, but I can only sit around doing nothing for so long before I get bored. Luckily, as I mentioned, I suspected I had just the tonic for any boredom waiting for me back in Argentina.

So thats where I went (albeit on the 4:30am ferry. That's the punishment I get for being a cheapskate.)

Stewart


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb