Uguguay!!!


Advertisement
Published: December 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Plaza de Independencia (yes, another one!)Plaza de Independencia (yes, another one!)Plaza de Independencia (yes, another one!)

This is the main plaza in Montevideo. The building behind the statue is Uruguays whitehouse, the presidential building.
I just got back from one of the most relaxing vacations of my lifeeeee!! My friend Caitlin and I started out on the 3rd (the day after our last final exam) and took a flight to the capital of Uruguay, Montevideo. We spent two nights there, met really cool people at the hostel with whom we went out. I liked Montevideo a lot, cute town with pretty colonial arcitecture and good looking boys 😊 After Montevideo we headed up the eastern coast to Punta del Este, the more resorty area of Uruguay. We stayed with three guys that had a house about 20 minutes outside of the center of town. I found them on Couchsurfing and they ended up being the most amazing people ever, we planned on staying a night or two and stayed four! They took us to awesome beaches that we would have never found, I cooked Mexican food for them one night (not half as good as Aunt Veronicas, obvio), we celebrated one of their brother´s birthdays and toured all around the city and beaches. I wouldn´t have liked Punta del Este half as much as if I did if we didn´t stay with them. After four
PrettyPrettyPretty

This is considered one of the most beautiful buildings in Montevideo. I like it...
nights there we headed up the coast some more to La Palmoa- a very sleepy surf town that was pretty boring in retrospect. We stayed there two nights, had an asado one night and a pasta dinner the next with everyone at the hostel. The second night there we met a friend of the owners who lived in La Pedrera, another little surf town about 7km north of La Paloma. He took me and a few others to Laguna del Rocha, a beautiful spot where the river met the ocean. There were flamingos, sand dunes and a beautiful sunset... unfortunatly that´s where my camera broke!!! He invited my friend and I to stay at his house the next night in La Pedrera before moving on to Punta del Diablo. So we went to his house for a night and had another asado (love the asados!) and took off the next day. Pretty hilarious, the guy whom we stayed with (who was 38 years old) gave me a letter as I got on the bus, which was followed by an email, confessing that he was falling in love with me. Not kidding, he even suggested us living in San Francisco and
MontevidoMontevidoMontevido

I know, Im so artsy...
vacationing in South America... HA! Pretty entertaining. So glad it was in writing- that´s definelty getting glued into my journal de sudamerica! We moved on to Punto del Diablo for two nights before heading back to Montevideo. Punto del Diablo was pretty, not too different from the other towns we were in, so we lounged on the beach all day, everday. I don´t think I´ve ever been so tan, and I´m loving every bit of it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Mercado de Montevideo!Mercado de Montevideo!
Mercado de Montevideo!

Super touristy but ah-mazing. Its basically a building with a ton of bbq restaurants. I got ribs (dont worry dad, they werent as good as yours), they cut them totally different here.
MercadoMercado
Mercado

The picture before explains the state of my fisique
Punta del EstePunta del Este
Punta del Este

Meet Caitlin, the friend I was traveling with in Uruguay. This is the backyard of the guys house that we stayed with in Punta del Este. Cute little veggie garden.
Los Dedos!!Los Dedos!!
Los Dedos!!

Random statue that is on the beach in Punta del Este.
FriendsFriends
Friends

Guido (birthday boy/ brother of one of the guys we were staying with), Me, Caitlins friend, Emily, who joined us for a few days, and Caitlin.
Friends AgainFriends Again
Friends Again

This was one of my favorite days: Guido, Sofia and Bruno took us to a really cool lookout point.
Turtle Egg!Turtle Egg!
Turtle Egg!

Cool huh? Its in the lower left corner... looks like a bubble.
HikeHike
Hike

Hike through the prettiest area I have ever been.
Comida MexicanaComida Mexicana
Comida Mexicana

The guys we stayed with were great- they all work at a hotel. A portugese couple tried to book a room and there was no space at the hotel so they stayed at the house with us for a night.
Lobos Marinos!Lobos Marinos!
Lobos Marinos!

Where were walking along the pier and came across these sea lions sleeping. I was too scared to touch them but I got realllllly close! Soo much better than sea world!
BeachBeach
Beach

Pretty beach Bruno took us to in Punta del Este.
Punta del EstePunta del Este
Punta del Este

Same beach but even better with the sunset. The shore was covered in crabs that came out as the sun was going down.
Laguna del RochaLaguna del Rocha
Laguna del Rocha

Can you see the flamingos? I never knew there were so many flamingos all over Chile.
RelajateRelajate
Relajate

We litereally lounged everday. Love it.


17th December 2009

merry Christmas
Will miss you for xmas...we will be on a cruse ship in mexico for the week...love the blog kiddo. have fun. Love ya paul, vero and natalie
17th December 2009

add me to your list
Your breaking hearts whereever you go...keep it up!!
19th June 2010

La Barra
Hi girls, you need to return and go to Jose Ignacio and La Barra, very fashion people.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb