Simmername II


Advertisement
Suriname's flag
South America » Suriname » Paramaribo
April 26th 2011
Published: April 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we went right into the heat of the day to get to an amazing butterfly garden near the city. This place breeds exotic butterflies for sale to butterfly gardens in the US and Eurpope. Pretty neat place. Unfortunately, I can't share photos of it because we just bought a new memory card for the camera, and the card with the photos is in Pauline's purse, and not here with me in the camera. (foiled again).

The one photo we have on the new card is of the sign for an english bookstore. I am sharing it because it is going to be our saviour here. You see, Abbey ran out of english books to read some time ago, and she doesn't have a lot to do on her own when we're around Astrid's house in the mornings, or on the car rides to different destinations. The main attractions around the house have been watching the cute little tree frogs that climb the walls cleaning out little bugs, or snapping photos of the large iguana that walks through the yard every morning. She has really been great, but having a few books for her will be a big help for everyone's sanity.

Saw clouds today. I would have cried tears of joy, but I was too dehydrated. Actually got out to enjoy walking around in the downtown in the very narrow window between when it starts to cool off (around 4pm) and when stores start to close (4:30).

Oops. Ran out of time and can't upload photo either. Will try later.

Advertisement



28th April 2011

Back Soon
It all sounds so exotic...butterfly farm...are you kidding me. We are looking forward to having you guys back in our hemisphere. Just looked at the calendar and was pleasantly surprised that the grand Krentz / Smith Red Wine and Sushi Summit is not that far away. I know this is the first you have heard of that event (I just planned it right now) but I will expect your attendance and exhuberant participation. Soak up the sun and enjoy the last bit of the trip. Bruce p.s. I loved the line "the connection speed could charitably be described as glacial" I did a day of cutting wood and that rolled through my head over and over.

Tot: 0.434s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb