Day 12


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
July 11th 2012
Published: July 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Right now I am in Aguas Calientes sipping on a very VERY nice glass (or 2 or 3) of Chilean red wine in a restaurant right next to the fast flowing river... It is literally below me when I look out the window. At 6.30 though I am due to go back to the hotel for dinner with our guide and one other family. Today was fairly relaxed as I returned to the raw food bar for my morning green smoothie then hopped on the bus back to Ollayantambo where Ollie, myself and Annie and her two teenage boys had lunch at the Hearts Cafe which supports several causes. We then caught the train to Aguas Calientes, otherwise known as Macchu Picchu town. The train ride was simply amazing and so scenic, however the whole time I was wishing I was up there hiking instead of looking at the mountains out of the window. I cannot wait to find someone willing to come back with me next year. Upon arrival in Aguas Calientes Ollie took us on an hour stroll along the river and pointed out the Macchu Picchu mountain. We could just see some of the terraces and ruins. This increased my excitement for tomorrow, especially because I get to see dad and the others up there. I have missed all of their company. Anyway back to my wine 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb