Machu Picchu, Via Ferrata, and the Joys of a Stomach Bug!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
July 13th 2011
Published: July 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Machu Picchu, Via Ferrata, and the Joys of a Stomach Bug!

Saturday was Machu Picchu day and boy, Michelle and I were excited. I had difficulties sleeping; could have been due to the excitement, the cat hissing, or the fact that Michelle found a spider in her bed minutes before we turned the lights off. (If only I put up my bug net, I would have had a more comfortable sleep).

 5:30 A.M came quickly and we were off for a quick breakfast and to catch an early train to Machu Picchu. We encountered our first real rip off situation that morning. The hotel clerk mentioned that it was a fifteen minute ride to the train station. Surely, Michelle and I thought it would be best to get a cab, especially so early in the morning. Turns out the train station was a ten minute walk. We legitimately were in the car for three minutes and our driver had the nerve to charge us fifteen solas.  Michelle was visibly heated with interesting choice words for the cabbie.  Barely functional at that time in the morning, a quick " Relax! Just Relax!" (a daily comment between the two of us) got Michelle to stop arguing over the four dollars. 

Peru Rails was a very pleasant way to make the hour and half trip to Machu Picchu. The seats were comfortable, windows surrounded us so that we could enjoy the view,it was full service (a tomato and cheese sandwich that we really couldn't live without), and it played impeccable music. 

Michelle and I avoided all tourist agency when planning the trip to Machu Picchu and I definitely feel that was the best way to go. We probably saved a hundred dollars this way. It did however, add a few  extra stops as we had to get tickets at Peru Rails and then hike to " Ministeria  de Culturas" to buy Machu Picchu admission tickets. Luckily, we found a very knowledgable English speaking guide right at Machu Picchu. 

Machu Picchu (I refer to it as Peru's Disney World) was packed with many tourists from all over the world. We toured the ruins for a total of five hours walking through each and every nook. The first two hours was spent with our Tour Guide William. He brought us through each section giving us thorough information of the ruin's history and bringing us to the best places to snatch a photo. After, we took a forty five minute break where we snacked on the Peanut Butter crackers that we brought from home and played with the llamas. Wanting to grab a few more photos we hiked back to the top and then continued for a few hours trekking some of the Incan trails and visiting the other remote sites, such as the Incan bridge.  (If you want to get into shape quickly, I suggest the Peruvian exercise fad, Ruins Climbing! You will definitely break a sweat and tighten your leg and bottom muscles!) Exhausted,starving, camera battery dead, and too much sun for one day, it was time to say goodbye to Machu Picchu. What a sight! 

Before returning to Ollantaytambo, we spent a few hours dragging through the closest village to Machu Picchu, Agua Calientes. Our train ride wasn't until 6:10 and we had a few hours to kill. We grabbed a fantastic meal, and plowed through markets before deciding we couldn't really take much more. We plopped ourselves on chairs at the train station and laughed at everything funny and not funny. I think at that moment we were a bit delusional. 

The next morning we had another vigorous journey ahead of us, Via Ferrata! Overlooking the Urabamba River Valley, we had the option of hiking the 400 meter mountain or scaling the 400 meter mountain. The excursion ends with 5 zip lines and one mountain repell. Michelle opted to scale the mountain and I did the hike. I hiked with Marco and Michelle scaled with Coco! (He was one great piece of eye candy). I'm seriously impressed with Michelle's ability to scale the mountain. I watched in awe as she effortlessly moved up the mountain without any fear of the possible 400 meter fall. 

My dear friend Marco forgot his harness and had to make a quick trip home to retrieve it. I patiently waited for his arrival, holding down the fort  on the only road that connects Urabamba to Ollantayambo. Every so often a car came straggling by, but other than that it was a frigid (mountain was blocking the sun) and peaceful (creepy) 20 minute (really 35) wait.

After getting everything situated I was off on my 45 minute hike upwards with Marco as my guide and my own personal photographer. I learned about his girlfriends, his ice climbing certifications, and how he needs to work seven days a week so that he can pay for his trip to the Himalayas! (Main reason why he kicked his girlfriend to the curb). It was fun listening to his stories as I trekked. He made it fun and painless (The cactus I kept running into,however, I could have done without). Before I knew it I was at the top and being strapped to the line and being zipped to the location where I would meet up with Michelle. 

It was Michelle's first time zip lining and she definitely was a little bit nervous at first. I guess it's natural. It was fun for me to be the relax one and her the weenie. Usually, I secure that role. It's funny because I  am not thrilled with heights so I definitely move more gingerly on the mountain paths especially going downwards, but when it comes to zip lining there is no hesitation when it's time for me to jump off the mountain peak and zoom to the next. It's such an adrenaline rush. (Strange...don't you think?).The lines varied between 200 to 500 meters and during one line we doubled up. The view of the valley from that height was amazing. Another awesome trip for us and I think Michelle declared that her favorite activity of the entire trip. 

On the ride back to Cusco was when I started to feel extremely ill. All of sudden, I completely lost my appetite and had sharp pains in my stomach. Unfortunately, it sprung up at such a terrible time as it was Michelle's last night in Cusco. I went straight to bed and poor Michelle had to dine by herself. Morning arrived and I still felt like garbage. Not really being able to stomach anything I peeled myself out of bed to accompany my friend to breakfast and put her in a cab to the airport. The rest of the day I sprawled out on the couch in the common area and whined to my parents (via FaceTime) about how miserable the pain was. It was such a pleasant way to start Christina Time! In hoping not to completely waste the entire day, I motivated myself to check out the Incan museum. That was a complete disaster because I was completely distracted by my stomach. I could barely concentrate on the guide's information and all I was hoping was for him to end the tour so I could return back to the hostel to sleep. Finally, I caved in and took the antibiotics the doctor gave me before I left. I was definitely stupid waiting so long to take them. The next morning (Tuesday) I was as  good as new. 

For the rest of my time in Peru,  I scheduled Spanish classes, plan to watch more Copa America soccer games at the bars with the locals, walk around the city,  thoroughly relax, and if my stomach can handle it try the Peruvian chili! 

I'm excited to return home to an insulated home, hot shower, warm weather, family, friends, and summer BBQs.

I hope you enjoyed following my trip! After the weekend, check out the blog as I hope to add some pictures.

Until next time, 

Christina


Advertisement



14th July 2011

bloggyness
Loved reading your blog. Hope your tummy troubles didn't spoil too much of the fun!
14th July 2011

bloggyness
Loved reading your blog. Hope your tummy troubles didn't spoil too much of the fun!

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb