And then I got to know the Lima airport like the back of my hand


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
November 13th 2013
Published: December 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This is where the weary international traveler takes a deep breath, sighs and goes to find a bench to sleep on for a couple of hours. Apparently a runway is closed tonight here in Lima and our flight is delayed from 2am to 5 am! Thus missing my flight from Dalllas to SLC. Which translates as rerouting from Dallas to Los Angeles to SLC getting in 12 and ahalhours after leaving Lima...been in the airport since 9:30 pm.

Patience, endurance, tranquillo...tranquillo.

So how about a bit more about my trip to la selva..the jungle. where did I leave off? I don't even know much anymore.. Like what day it is, I even asked someone if it's November! I feel as though I was in a deep meditation with jungle village living....without actually being a member of the community. I did meet quite a few membersif the village of Padre Cocha.

Robinson is a groundskeeper, volunteer policeman (no paid cops here!) and handyman. Navarro is a carpenter and cement layer. Maria is a wife and runs a little store with her daughter Arette. leche is a Bora Indian, Hill is a kindergartact reacher, David and Juan and Orison who own boats for transporting people to and from Iquitos, Emanuel the mototaxi driver, Don Leches pregnant daughter with a passel of kids, the lady with the bigger store, Ron the teacher at the kindergarden, and all the mototaxi drivers whose names I never got, and everyone who said hello to me as I went about my days in Padre Cocha... my thanks to them all for welcoming me to their village.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb