The never ending dinner.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
June 20th 2012
Published: June 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

June 19, 2012

The only thing really of note about the day here at B. Group was that all of us struggled to get through the day. All the students seemed to be acting up an just ancy. We couldn't figure it out... There aren't any breaks coming up. It's not close to the end of the trimester. It's not the end of the week. Hmm. Ah well... The ever-changing life of teaching, I guess! 😊

At the language school in the evening, I was assigned to the Intermediate 8 class that used to be with Iris but now is with Janina. The were good. They participate as much as they can. I taught part of the lesson, which was fun. I can kind of goof around with them a little bit, which is such a relief. (With the kids in the regular school, it's hard enough to get them to listen and pay attention, so I struggle to even get through the material that I need to let alone extra side notes that keep them on their toes.) I'm a person that needs to have that extra bit of interaction with students. If all I do is go through the book, I get bored and so do the students. If you have the opportunity to joke around with the kids, you get to know them on a much more personal level. :D That's just my take.

Then I moved on and worked with the Basic 6 students. They were pretty fun, too. They get all flustered when they can't think of a word, but it's so fun when you can see them thinking so hard about something and then they finally get it and are able to explain what they want. (I think that's been the best part of ESL. When they struggle and are so frustrated that they think life can't go on, and then they get it... And the fact that they improve SO much in just a matter of one month is just amazing.) I love watching them learn!

After this was, it seemed like, the never ending dinner. Jaja. We had soup (like always) and then Sr. Daniel mentioned something about how Tuesday night is "Pizza night." We all thought he was just telling us for the next week so we knew. Nope. After soup it was time for pizza. So much food last night. The soup is always super filling, and then to shove pizza in too... Oh boy. It was delicious.

As Meredith said, "There's always room for pizza."

Monique

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb