A la Playa! Beach-bound


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
February 9th 2012
Published: February 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=vda7_cpA-TE]
BeachBeachBeach

There were two other white guys as we were leaving. I was still the whitest
Today I went to a beach called Punta Negra (Black Point) with Cesar. It took a little bit of convincing, but in the end he couldn't resist the call of the hot southern sun. We headed south down the highway along the coast. Lima itself has several beaches but being so close to the city, they just aren't as appealing. I would compare it to swimming in the Potomac or Anacostia next to DC...

After about an hour and 15 minutes we arrived. Cesar had never been there so we weren't exactly sure what to expect. The area just off the coast was very poor. The houses (or shacks) were rundown and everything seemed kind of bleak; even with the beautiful weather. Miles and miles of beautiful coast lined up with poor shacks... this definitely was not the Outer-Banks.

To get in it costed $1 per car and then $3 more for an umbrella and two chairs. We chose where to sit and then they gave us a menu. A beach that serves food and alcohol! And you don't have to lug sandy beach chairs back to your house! Other than that it seemed like any other beach except
My roomMy roomMy room

A box Kalem and Lady J gave me broke so I turned it into a wall piece.
the waved were bigger and everyone had dark skin.

So the sun was out, kids were laughing, and Cesar was sleeping. We went in the water for a bit at one point but it was freeeezing and the waves were back-breaking. The pictures and the video I am about to put up don't really give it justice. And the sky almost looks grey too! It certainly was a bright blue.

We saw someone's umbrella and belongings get sached by a wave. We decided to build a double-sand-barrier with a mot in between to protect ourselves. The man next to us called it the "Great Wall of Peru". Not more than 20 minutes later did a wave come and thrash the walls. It held up long enough for me to move my backpack, book, and camera out of the way. Two cheers for preemptive defensive strategies!

What was left of the barrier was just the mot filled with water. A little Peruvian boy jumped in and started swimming saying "Look! A river! A river, look, look!" It was pretty adorable. We headed out soon after.

As I write this I am still combating the sunburn. I put sun block on but everywhere I missed is a bright, bright red. Including my feet, toes and under the hair on parts of my head. Lesson Learned. Don't fuck with the Peruvian Sun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

CesarCesar
Cesar

Being a Butt
BeachBeach
Beach

Back-breaking
Inside My HouseInside My House
Inside My House

Outdoor Stairs. Very Peruvian
A look from outside my windowA look from outside my window
A look from outside my window

This was last semester. Note: Very foggy
A look from outside my windowA look from outside my window
A look from outside my window

This semester! Note: Very sunny and the building is almost finished! What Progress
A look from outside my windowA look from outside my window
A look from outside my window

From last semester. Note: Also gloomy and the tall building in the back is barely constructed


11th February 2012

sweet
Very descriptive. Almost feels like I am there... except I am wearing a wool sweater right now.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb