(2) Jungle City South America


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
November 22nd 2013
Published: November 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Lima, Peru


Additional maps: Lima, Peru

As I stepped off the plane in Peru the feeling hit me. I was in the chaos. Not only was I in another American continent (the south one) but it was the other half of the globe. It was where summer is winter and winter is summer. My world was flipped.

Muy Bien!! I had stepped into the mystical world.

I had known Spanish language, countries, customs and people since I was 14. So I felt somewhat at ease in a Latin country. It had been my desire and dream to visit Peru ever since I had seen pictures of the famed ancient civilization of Machu Pichu. Soon I had heard about and seen photos of the epic waves that peel down deserted sandy desert beaches. I would count the days until I could experience that surfing.

SURFTRAVEL TIP #2. Find your place when you get there. I mean this Physically and Metaphysically.

So I got off the airship voyage between North and South America and I was pumped with new world energy. I had researched a little about cab rides & found a decent fare and had the cabbie take me to the hotel I had booked from a US travel-site.

It was about 70% more expensive than the local hotel but turned out to be just what i needed to butter me up for my travels. I had a great nights sleep and a delicious breakfast. The classic Peruvian cocktail is called Pisco sour - a Peruvian whiskey/tequila mix with bitters, chilled and topped with egg white for protein.

I had a strong one with my delicious morning meal. Then I moved to a hostel by the beach. By beach I mean the cliffs and rocks that is the ocean in Peru.

I wanted to surf. So like a boy intoxicated by the adventure spirit, I got on a local bus that was going south. I was excited by the din of chaos surrounding me on a 5 cent bus ride and like a child or small dog in the new environment I became careless of my belongings. Probably some thief caught onto this and as I switched buses I looked into my board shorts and there was no wallet (credit card, driver license $100) and/or iPhone 5. Ugh!

But that night when I went back to Mirflores (which translated from Spanish means "look at the flowers") I was with my people. Young and free and ready to be. That evening a bunch of us went out to a local festival.

Lights a blazing and bubbles blowing in the Peruvian autumn night. There were bands, concession stands and fireworks for the occasion. Was it out of sheer anger & frustration that I climbed a rope freehand 100 feet high using only my arms and back muscles? I do not know. But climb I did and slept like a battling champion until late the next day. I was only just beginning the new world discoveries that were changing my mind.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb