Our Final Day in Lima, Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
March 5th 2011
Published: March 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Our last full day in Lima. We leave for Cusco at 10am and we have to be at the airport around 830 so we’ll have to take an early cab. We woke up this morning pretty early because even on Saturday the construction outside our window was going on. The sawing this morning, which seems constant in this city, was much worse than normal. It sounded like they were cutting cement!! How horrible. We had a pretty wicked hangover and I hadn’t slept much so I walked to the bodega down the street to get big water. It was delicious. After chilling for a few, Brett and I went to get a coffee and some breakfast/lunch. We had a chicken sandwich with French fries and lettuce on it haha. It was pretty decent and very cheap so we couldn’t complain about that. We walked down Calle Berlin to go to this place and we were reminiscing how quiet it was last night when we were walking home from the bar. The nighttime is the only real quiet time around here. After lunch we walked to the ATM so I could get some cash, I pulled out 500 soles for the trip to Cusco and our last night here. We got back to the hostel and decided we wanted to go to the beach. We got some things together and took off down there. It was beautiful day today and just perfect beach weather. Even though the water was pretty nasty still there was no garbage today and I took a dip. It wasn’t too bad at all thought it smelled a bit. We ran into German and Karen on the beach, not Kaitlin like I had previously thought hahah. We sat with them and this guy named Dan who had been at our hostel previously. I tried some of his “Mate” which is a traditional Argentinian tea that is drank all over the country. It’s pretty delicious, reminded me of good sun tea. He said it can be served cold or hot. I drank it hot. After we hung out for a while we decided to head back to the hostel. We talked with German for a while and he said that when we get to Buenos Aires he will show us all around the city and pick us up with his car and we can go see some things that we normally wouldn’t as regular travellers, this sounded amazing to me and just solidified the fact that you have to make connections when travelling because some of the best things come from the people you meet that is for sure. German is a genuinely nice guy and I really enjoyed his company, I can’t wait until we meet up in BA. I wanted to see what Mayra wanted to do on my last night and also I wanted to shower because as usual, I was dirty as hell. So here we are and I am going to have to pack my bag tonight for a trip in the morning which should be a chore, and hopefully if things go well we can go to this parque de luz y agua. I also want to get a bracelet from every place I visit and I have yet to get one here so I am on the hunt. After we got back to the hostel I spent some time on the computer and talked to Mayra and decided to meet her at her hostel since it was my last night here and I wanted to see her before I left, claro. Her brother who lives in the US was in town and he has a one year old daughter, her niece, whose name is Atama, what a pretty name. Anyways tonight Mayra was spending time with Atama and her brother dropped her off to hang out with Mayra so I met both of them at the hostel and we walked to the park to hang out for a while. It is a very hot night tonight, probably still 85 degrees and it was nice to sit in the park and talk and hang out. The little girl, Atama was crawling all over the place, I carried her for a while and she was totally cool with me, Mayra said normally she cries when strangers pick her up but I mean seriously I’m Tom Carr, everyone loves me, except of course that Danish guy from the club last night hahahahahah. We talked in the park and did some kissing and hand holding and what not, it was nice. I think everyone thought the kid was ours, it was kind of funny. Like I always say, kids are way better when they aren’t yours hahah. We left the park after a while and she had to take Atama back to her brother’s house here and we agreed to meet at my hostel in an hour and then we’d go to dinner with Brett. I stopped by Parque Kennedy and picked up a bracelet, thank god I accomplished that!! So I arrived back at the hostel and Mayra came shortly thereafter and we all walked down to a Ceviche restaurant down the street that we had seen earlier in the day. Most of you know Ceviche or have had it before and in the US it often has tomatoes and parsley or cilantro in it, there are many different ways to make it however, and I didn’t know this, Peru is the Ceviche capital of the world. The best in the world is here so we were determined to try some before we left. Here they serve it with raw red onion, some vinegar sauce, raw whitefish, sides of sweet potatoes and corn. When we told Mayra that we wanted to eat it for dinner she said that we were crazy and normally Ceviche is only eaten in the daytime with some beers by the beach, it’s kind of a community appetizer, very light and refreshing. We told her this would have been good info earlier in the week as it was our last night and that since we were American we could take the liberty of having it for dinner. Along with our Ceviche dish we ordered Antecucho, which is skewered beef heart, yes heart, and it was soooo good. Very tender and delicious. We all talked at dinner about a lot of stuff, our past week, our jobs, Mayra is a child psychologist and she was telling us some stories about her work. She also told us that she was going back to Cusco in the next couple days instead of staying Lima like she planned. She has an apartment in Cusco and her papers for the embassy won’t be ready for a long time so why not return. I think perhaps my going there has something to do with this departure and she said she was going to surprise me there but that she had to tell me tonight. She keeps an apartment there so that should be fun and interesting; we’ll have a guide of the city! Another connection that ended well! After dinner we said our goodbyes and I got a goodbye kiss, I asked her when I’d see her again in Cusco and she said “sooner than you think”. I am happy man, we got our Ceviche, I got my bracelet, and I don’t have to say goodbye to Mayra just yet. Pretty solid if you ask me. Plus some of the best pictures Brett and I have taken came from today so I am going to upload them all. Enjoy them. I am in bed much earlier tonight because we leave for Cusco early tomorrow so no 3am goodbyes, for now it’s a 12:17a goodbye. Love and light to all my friends, I hope you all enjoy your weekend and don’t work too hard next week. We all know I won’t be 


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



7th March 2011

I loved reading these tonight! Very entertaining to say the least. I am so interested in whats going to happen with your new lady friend, of course. Happy you both are having such a good time - safe travels :)
8th March 2011

"I mean seriously I’m Tom Carr, everyone loves me." Haha you crack me up Tom! Love reading your blog - looks like you're having so much fun!!

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb